Dmitry Masleev

Dmitry Masleev
Dmitry Masleev (b. 1988), pianist – First Prize (XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015)

Tuesday, November 03, 2015

Olivier Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps – Trio Oriens, Richard Nunemaker

Ο Ολιβιέ Μεσιάν συνέθεσε το «Κουαρτέτο για το τέλος του χρόνου», ένα από τα σημαντικότερα έργα μουσικής δωματίου του 20ού αιώνα, κρατούμενος σε στρατόπεδο συγκέντρωσης στη Σιλεσία. O ασυνήθιστος συνδυασμός οργάνων (πιάνο, βιολί, βιολοντσέλο, κλαρινέτο) οφείλεται στις συνθήκες του στρατοπέδου – αυτοί οι μουσικοί υπήρχαν. Μετά από λίγες πρόβες που πάντα γίνονταν κάτω από πολύ δύσκολες συνθήκες, το έργο παρουσιάστηκε μπροστά σε εκατοντάδες κρατούμενους-ακροατές. Ο συνθέτης δήλωσε αργότερα ότι ποτέ άλλοτε κοινό δεν άκουσε έργο του με τόση προσοχή και κατανόηση. Στο συμβολικό αυτό έργο, με το οποίο έθεσε τα θεμέλια για καινοτομίες που θα επηρέαζαν τη μουσική μετά το '50, ο συνθέτης πέτυχε τη σύζευξη θρησκευτικού και μουσικού βιώματος, αναζητώντας τα τεχνικά μέσα απόδοσης μιας κεντρικής για το έργο του σκέψης: της άρσης του χρόνου με μια φευγαλέα ματιά στην αιωνιότητα. Απέδειξε ότι, ακόμη και σε ακραίες συνθήκες, ο άνθρωπος μπορεί να διατηρήσει την αξιοπρέπειά του και να απελευθερωθεί από ένα βασανιστικό παρόν.

Το «Κουαρτέτο για το τέλος του χρόνου» του Ολιβιέ Μεσιάν ερμηνεύουν το εξαιρετικό Trio Oriens (με μουσικούς από την Ταϊβάν) και ο διακεκριμένος Αμερικανός κλαρινετίστας Richard Nunemaker.

Olivier Messiaen, 1945
Messiaen was 31 years old when France entered World War II. He was captured by the German army in June 1940 and imprisoned in Stalag VIII-A, a prisoner-of-war camp in Görlitz, Germany (now Zgorzelec, Poland). While in transit to the camp, Messiaen showed the clarinetist Henri Akoka, also a prisoner, the sketches for what would become Abîme des oiseaux. Two other professional musicians, violinist Jean le Boulaire and cellist Étienne Pasquier, were among his fellow prisoners, and after he managed to obtain some paper and a small pencil from a sympathetic guard (Carl-Albert Brüll, 1902-1989), Messiaen wrote a short trio for them; this piece developed into the Quatuor for the same trio with himself at the piano. The combination of instruments is unusual, but not without precedent: Walter Rabl had composed for it in 1896, as had Paul Hindemith in 1938.

The quartet was premiered at the camp, outdoors and in the rain, on 15 January 1941. The musicians had decrepit instruments and an audience of about 400 fellow prisoners and guards. Messiaen later recalled: "Never was I listened to with such rapt attention and comprehension."

Brüll provided paper and isolation for composing, and he also helped acquire the three other instruments. By forging papers with a stamp made from a potato, Brüll even helped the performers to be liberated shortly after the performance. After the war, Brüll made a special trip to visit Messiaen, but was sent away and told the composer would not see him. (*)

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)

♪ Quatuor pour la fin du temps / Quartet for the end of time / Κουαρτέτο για το τέλος του χρόνου (1940-1941)

i. Liturgie de cristal
ii. Vocalise pour l'ange qui annonce la fin du temps
iii. Abîme des oiseaux
iv. Intermède
v. Louange à l'éternité de Jésus
vi. Danse de la fureur pour les 7 trompettes
vii. Fouillis d'arcs-en-ciel pour l'ange qui annonce la fin du temps
viii. Louange à l'immortalité de Jésus

Richard Nunemaker, clarinet

Trio Oriens:

Johnny Chang, violin
Olive Chen, cello
I-Ling Chen, piano

St. Thomas University, Houston, November 15, 2011 (15 Νοεμβρίου 2011)

(HD 1080p)


Trio Oriens & Richard Nunemaker

No comments:

Post a Comment