Norwegian Chamber Orchestra

Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
Norwegian Chamber Orchestra (Photo by Mona Ødegaard)

Monday, February 01, 2016

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No.3 in D minor – hr-Sinfonieorchester, Paavo Järvi

Anton Bruckner's Symphony No.3 in D minor, was dedicated to Richard Wagner and is sometimes known as his "Wagner Symphony". It was written in 1873, revised in 1877 and again in 1889.

The work has been characterised as "difficult", and is regarded by some as Bruckner's artistic breakthrough. According to Rudolf Kloiber, the Third Symphony "opens the sequence of Bruckner's masterpieces, in which his creativity meets monumental ability of symphonic construction". The work is notorious as the most-revised of Bruckner's symphonies, and there exist no fewer than six versions, with two of them, the 1873 original and the composer's last thoughts of 1889, being widely performed today.

Bruckner wrote the first version of the Symphony in 1873. In September 1873, before the work was finished, Bruckner visited Richard Wagner, whom he had first met in 1865 at the premiere of "Tristan und Isolde" in Munich. Bruckner showed both his Second and Third Symphonies to Wagner, asking him to pick one he preferred. To Bruckner's delight, Wagner chose the Third, and Bruckner dedicated the Symphony to the master he highly respected. After getting home, Bruckner continued to work on the Symphony, finishing the finale on 31 December 1873.

The premiere of this Symphony was given in Vienna in 1877. The conductor was to be Johann von Herbeck, but he died a month beforehand so Bruckner himself had to step in and conduct. The concert was a complete disaster: although a decent choral conductor, Bruckner was a barely competent orchestral director. The Viennese audience, which was not sympathetic to his work to begin with, gradually left the hall as the music played. Even the orchestra fled at the end, leaving Bruckner alone with a few supporters, including Gustav Mahler. (The score was later owned by Mahler; his widow Alma Mahler ensured she took it with her when fleeing the Nazi invasion of France in 1940 for the United States.)

Stunned by this debacle, Bruckner made several revisions of his work, leaving out significant amounts of music including most quotations from Wagner's "Tristan and Isolde" and "Die Walküre". The original 1873 score was not published until 1977.


Ο Άντον Μπρούκνερ έγραψε την Τρίτη Συμφωνία του το 1873 (την αναθεώρησε το 1877 και το 1889) και την αφιέρωσε στον Ρίχαρντ Βάγκνερ, του οποίου η επιρροή ήταν καθοριστική για το έργο του. Γνωστή γι' αυτό το λόγο και ως «Συμφωνία Βάγκνερ», πρωτοπαρουσιάστηκε στη Βιένη το 1877, υπό τη διεύθυνση του συνθέτη.

Μετά τον Μπετόβεν όλοι οι συνθέτες βασανίστηκαν από το αποκαλούμενο "Beethoven complex". Τι να γράψει κανείς μετά τις Συμφωνίες του Μπετόβεν; Όταν ο Μπρούκνερ έγραψε τις τρεις πρώτες Συμφωνίες του, τις έδειξε στον Βάγκνερ, ο οποίος ήταν εκείνη την εποχή βασικός εκδότης του μουσικού περιοδικού "Deutsche Musikzeitschrift". Ο Βάγκνερ ενθουσιάστηκε με τη Συμφωνία αρ. 3 και το περιοδικό βγήκε με πρωτοσέλιδο τίτλο «Τελείωσε το Beethoven complex». Η γερμανική συμφωνική μουσική είχε αποκτήσει έναν άξιο συνεχιστή του Μπετόβεν. Η 26η Μαρτίου, ημέρα τέλεσης της συναυλίας, έχει έναν συμβολισμό, καθώς στις 26 Μαρτίου του 1827 πέθανε ο Μπετόβεν.

Πηγή: Κάρολος Τρικολίδης (αρχιμουσικός)

Τη Συμφωνία αρ. 3 σε Ρε ελάσσονα, του Άντον Μπρούκνερ, ερμηνεύει η Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα της Ραδιοφωνίας της Φρανκφούρτης υπό τη διεύθυνση του σπουδαίου Αμερικανοεσθονού μαέστρου Πάαβο Γιέρβι. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στην Παλαιά Όπερα της Φρανκφούρτης την 21η Μαρτίου 2014.

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

♪ Symphony No.3 in D minor "Wagner Symphony", WAB 103 (1889)

i. Mehr langsam, Misterioso

ii. Adagio, bewegt, quasi Andante
iii. Ziemlich schnell
iv. Allegro

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra)

Conductor: Paavo Järvi

Alte Oper Frankfurt, March 21, 2014

(HD 720p)

First publication: February 1, 2016 – Last update: January 6, 2017

No comments:

Post a Comment