Sofia Gubaidulina, composer

Sofia Gubaidulina, composer
Sofia Gubaidulina

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No.16 in F major, Op.135 – BeethovenQuartett (HD 1080p)

The BeethovenQuartett performs Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet No.16 in F major, Op.135.

Beethoven's last quartet was written in October 1826 at his brother's country estate about 50 miles northeast of Vienna, where Beethoven and his nephew Karl had taken refuge after Karl's attempted suicide. It was, needless to say, a difficult time, but the Quartet is such a congenial and fun-loving work that it is fashionable to regard it as a sort of regression to Beethoven's 18th-century roots, which is a common misconception about almost any later Beethoven work that isn't full of thunderbolts.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

♪ String Quartet No.16 in F major, Op.135 (1826)

i. Allegretto
ii. Vivace
iii. Lento assai, cantante e tranquillo
iv. Grave, ma non troppo tratto – Allegro

Jacek Klimkiewicz, violin
Laurentius Bonitz, violin
Hideko Kobayashi, viola
Angela Schwartz, cello


(HD 1080p)

Uploaded on Youtube for the Blog "Faces of Classical Music"

First publication: January 23, 2014 – Last update: September 2, 2017

No comments:

Post a Comment