Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Tuesday, March 04, 2014

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No.3 in E flat major, ii. Adagio assai – Daniel Barenboim (Concert in memory of Claudio Abbado)

In Memoriam Claudio Abbado (26/06/1933 - 20/01/2014)

Claudio Abbado (Milan, 1979. Photo by Giorgio Lotti)

Με το Teatro alla Scala άδειο, τον κόσμο έξω από αυτό και την πόρτα του θεάτρου ανοιχτή, στις 27 Ιανουαρίου 2014 δόθηκε μια ξεχωριστή συναυλία, αφιερωμένη στη μνήμη του μεγάλου μαέστρου Κλαούντιο Αμπάντο, ο οποίος είχε «φύγει» λίγες ημέρες πριν. Υπό την μπαγκέτα του Ντάνιελ Μπάρενμποϊμ, η Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα του Θεάτρου Σκάλα του Μιλάνου ερμήνευσε το δεύτερο μέρος (Adagio assai) από την Τρίτη Συμφωνία του Λούντβιχ βαν Μπετόβεν.

Exactly a week after Claudio Abbado’s death, the Teatro alla Scala paid a moving tribute to the theatre's former music director. Daniel Barenboim, the current music director of La Scala, has lead the Milan opera house's orchestra in a tribute to former La Scala director Claudio Abbado.

The tribute has seen the orchestra perform Beethoven's funeral march from his Symphony No. 3 to an empty house, a tradition dating back to the death of Arturo Toscanini in 1957.

The performance was relayed live outside the opera house here it was watched by thousands of people, gathered in the piazza della Scala. 

Barenboim was a close friend of Claudio Abbado and joined him on stage at La Scala when Abbado made his comeback in 2012 after a bout of ill health. 

In a heartfelt tribute to Abbado written earlier this week, Barenboim said: "We have lost one of the great musicians of the last half-century and one of the few musicians who had a particularly close relation with the spirit of the music, and one that went beyond the boundaries of musical genres. He sent signal to the world that young and inexperienced musicians can, with the right mindset and commitment play music at the very highest level. For this we must thank him".

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

♪ Symphony No.3 in E flat major, Op.55 "Eroica" (1804)

ii. Marcia funebre: Adagio assai in C minor

Philharmonic Orchestra of the Teatro alla Scala

Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Daniel Barenboim

Teatro alla Scala in Milan, January 27, 2014 (27 Ιανουαρίου 2014)

(HD 1080p)

Δημοσιεύτηκε στο Youtube για λογαριασμό του Blog: Πρόσωπα της Κλασικής Μουσικής (Faces of Classical Music)

Πρώτη δημοσίευση: 4 Μαρτίου 2014 – First publication: March 4, 2014

Τελευταία ενημέρωση: 27 Ιανουαρίου 2016 – Last update: January 27, 2016

Photo by Graham 'Gramilano' Spicer

Thousands gather at Milan's La Scala to remember Claudio Abbado
(January 27, 2014)

Daniel Barenboim

Daniel Barenboim & Claudio Abbado

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Hector Berlioz: Grande Messe des morts (Requiem) – Gustavo Dudamel (Notre-Dame de Paris 22-01-2014, HD 1080p)

A Russian Night: Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov & Stravinsky – Hélène Grimaud, Claudio Abbado (Full HD 1080p)

Hélène Grimaud talks about Claudio Abbado

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.1 in D major "Titan" – Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Claudio Abbado (HD 1080p)

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.4 in G major – Magdalena Kožená, Claudio Abbado

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.5 in C Sharp minor – Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Claudio Abbado

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.7 in E minor – Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Claudio Abbado (HD 1080p)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concertos, BWV 1046-1051 – Giuliano Carmignola, Claudio Abbado (Audio video)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.6 in B minor – Claudio Abbado (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Yuja Wang, Claudio Abbado

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ach, ich fühl's (Pamina's Aria from The Magic Flute) – Anna Prohaska, Claudio Abbado

Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dances – Wiener Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado (Audio video)

Claudio Abbado – Hearing the Silence: Sketches for a portrait (2003) / The silence that follows the music (1996) – Two films by Paul Smaczny

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.