Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Saturday, May 31, 2014

Johann Sebastian Bach: Ascension Oratorio, BWV 11 – Hannah Morrison, Meg Bragle, Nicholas Mulroy, Peter Harvey, Monteverdi Choir, English Baroque Soloists, John Eliot Gardiner (HD 1080p)

There are four extant works by Johan Sebastian Bach for the Feast of the Ascension, part of the liturgical cycle for Easter. Three are cantatas belonging to the cantata cycles composed in 1723-1724 (BWV37), 1724-1725 (BWV128), and 1725-1726 (BWV43). Although often designated as a cantata, the present work is more accurately described as a short oratorio, including as it does a narrative role for the Evangelist. It was composed in 1735, and first performed in one of the principal Leipzig churches on May 19 of that year. The Evangelist's narration was drawn by an unknown librettist from the Gospels of Luke and Mark, and the Acts of the Apostles. These sections plus two recitatives and the chorale placed at the center of the work are the only original parts of the oratorio, the opening and closing choruses, and the two arias all being drawn from previously written cantatas, now lost. The two choruses are planned on a grand scale, with the same brilliantly festive scoring (including three trumpets and drums) Bach had employed in Parts I, III, and IV of the Christmas Oratorio of 1734-1735. The closing chorus is chorale-based, using the hymn "Von Gott will ich nicht lassen" as a choral cantus firmus around which the orchestra weaves a joyously dance-like fantasia. "Ach bleibe doch", the alto aria is an extensive revision of an aria originally found in a lost wedding cantata, the same source the composer drew upon for the Agnus Dei of the Mass in B minor. The soprano aria "Jesu, deine Gandenblicke" is remarkable for the scoring of two flutes, oboe, violins, and violas without bass, the lightly translucent texture reflecting the text's allusion to Christ leaving his body to ascend to Heaven. The central section of recitative includes a telling piece of dramatization at the appearance of the angels, "two men in white apparel", whose words are addressed to the amazed onlookers as a duet.

Source: Brian Robins (

Η Καντάτα BWV 11, η οποία ονομάστηκε από τον ίδιο τον Μπαχ «Ορατόριο για την εορτή της Αναλήψεως» γράφτηκε το 1735 και παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά στις 19 Μαΐου της ίδιας χρονιάς. Το κείμενο, βασισμένο σε βιβλικές πηγές, φέρεται να έχει συνταχθεί από τον Picander ο οποίος είχε συνεργαστεί νωρίτερα με τον Μπαχ για το Χριστουγεννιάτικο Ορατόριο.

Τη Χορωδία Monteverdi και την ορχήστρα δωματίου English Baroque Soloists διευθύνει ο πολυπράγμων Βρετανός αρχιμουσικός Τζον Έλιοτ Γκάρντινερ. Συμπράττουν η σκωτο-ισλανδικής καταγωγής, Ολλανδή υψίφωνος Hannah Morrison, η Αμερικανίδα μεσόφωνος Meg Bragle, ο Άγγλος τενόρος Nicholas Mulroy και ο επίσης Άγγλος βαρύτονος Peter Harvey.

With English subtitles

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

♪ Ascension Oratorio, BWV 11 (Cantata, "Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen") (1735)

Part I
i. (Chorus) Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen
ii. (Evangelista) Der Herr Jesus hub seine Hände auf
iii. (Recitativo) Ach, Jesu, ist dein Abschied
iv. (Aria) Ach, bleibe doch, mein liebstes Leben
v. (Evangelista) Und ward aufgehoben zusehends
vi. (Chorale) Nun lieget alles unter dir

Part II
vii. (Evangelista) Und da sie ihm nachsahen
viii. (Recitativo) Ach ja! so komme bald zurück
ix. (Evangelista) Sie aber beteten ihn an
x. (Aria) Jesu, deine Gnadenblicke
xi. (Chorale) Wenn soll es doch geschehen

Hannah Morrison, soprano
Meg Bragle, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Mulroy, tenor
Peter Harvey, baritone

Monteverdi Choir
English Baroque Soloists

Conductor: John Eliot Gardiner

London, Proms 2013

(HD 1080p)

Uploaded on Youtube for the Blog "Faces of Classical Music"

First publication: May 31, 2014 – Last update: May 14, 2017

Nicholas Mulroy

Peter Harvey, Meg Bragle

Meg Bragle

Hannah Morrison

More photos

See also

Johann Sebastian Bach: Easter Oratorio, BWV 249 – Hannah Morrison, Meg Bragle, Nicholas Mulroy, Peter Harvey, Monteverdi Choir, English Baroque Soloists, John Eliot Gardiner (HD 1080p)

Eroica (The Movie, BBC 2003) by Simon Cellan Jones – Ian Hart, Leo Bill, Claire Skinner, Frank Finlay – John Eliot Gardiner (HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.