Alice Sara Ott

Alice Sara Ott
Alice Sara Ott (Photo by Ester Haase)

Friday, May 16, 2014

Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major – Hilary Hahn, hr-Sinfonieorchester, Paavo Järvi

Hilary Hahn

The Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77, was composed by Johannes Brahms in 1878 and dedicated to his friend, the violinist Joseph Joachim. It is Brahms's only violin concerto, and, according to Joachim, one of the four great German violin concerti. It is scored for solo violin and an orchestra consisting of flutes, oboes, clarinets, bassoons; 4 horns in D, F, and E, 2 trumpets in D, timpani, and strings. It follows the standard concerto form, with three movements in the pattern quick-slow-quick. Some of the discarded material was reworked for the second piano concerto. The most familiar cadenza, which appears in the first movement, is by Joachim, though a number of people have provided alternatives. Various modifications were made between then and the work's publication by Fritz Simrock later in the year. Critical reaction to the work was mixed: the canard that the work was not so much for violin as "against the violin" is attributed equally to conductor Hans von Bülow and to Joseph Hellmesberger, to whom Brahms entrusted the Vienna premiere, which was however rapturously received by the public. Henryk Wieniawski called the work "unplayable", and the violin virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate refused to play it because he didn't want to "stand on the rostrum, violin in hand and listen to the oboe playing the only tune in the adagio. The technical demands on the soloist are formidable, with generous use of multiple stopping, broken chords, rapid scale passages, and rhythmic variation.


Η διάσημη Αμερικανίδα βιολονίστρια Χίλαρι Χαν ερμηνεύει το Κοντσέρτο για βιολί και ορχήστρα σε Ρε μείζονα, έργο 77, του Γιοχάνες Μπραμς. Τη Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα της Ραδιοφωνίας της Φρανκφούρτης διευθύνει ο σπουδαίος Αμερικανοεσθονός μαέστρος Πάαβο Γιέρβι. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στην Παλαιά Όπερα της Φρανκφούρτης την 21η Μαρτίου 2014.

Το 1878 ο Μπραμς συνέθεσε το Κονσέρτο για βιολί και το αφιέρωσε στο στενό του φίλο, βιολονίστα Γιόζεφ Γιοακίμ ο οποίος αμέσως κατέταξε το έργο ανάμεσα στα τέσσερα σπουδαία, γερμανικής πατρότητας, κοντσέρτα βιολιού, μαζί με αυτά των Μπετόβεν, Μπρουχ και Μέντελσον. Ο Γιοακίμ μάλιστα, στην πρεμιέρα του έργου στη Λειψία το 1879, επέλεξε να ξεκινήσει τη συναυλία με το μεγαλειώδες Κοντσέρτο για βιολί του Μπετόβεν και να την κλείσει με το – γραμμένο στον ίδιο τόνο – Κοντσέρτο του Μπραμς, για να αποδείξει ότι το τελευταίο ήταν εφάμιλλο σε μουσικές αρετές και δεξιοτεχνικές απαιτήσεις με το εμβληματικό έργο του Μπετόβεν.


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

♪ Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77 (1878)

i. Allegro non troppo
ii. Adagio
iii. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace

Hilary Hahn, violin

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra)
Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Paavo Järvi

Alte Oper Frankfurt, March 21, 2014 (21 Μαρτίου 2014)

(HD 720p)

First publication: May 16, 2014 – Last update: November 8, 2015

See also

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No.3 in D minor – hr-Sinfonieorchester, Paavo Järvi

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.8 in E flat major – hr-Sinfonieorchester, Paavo Järvi

Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No.4 in A major "Italian" – hr-Sinfonieorchester, Paavo Järvi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.