Giacomo Susani

Giacomo Susani
Giacomo Susani (Photo by Luciano Tomasin, 2015)

Monday, August 18, 2014

Frédéric Chopin: Rondo à la krakowiak in F major – Nelson Goerner, Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century, Frans Brüggen

Frans Brüggen leads the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century in 2010

Chopin wrote six works for piano and orchestra, but none – at least none that were original – after 1831, the year he came to France as a political exile from Poland. Krakowiak, written when the composer was 18 years old, was his third such effort. Its title derives from a Renaissance-era Polish dance, said to be associated with courtship practices. Chopin, always showing an interest in native dances, as demonstrated by his numerous mazurkas and polonaises, was well-suited to adapting folk-like music to the concert hall.

The piece opens with a slow, rather exotic introduction on the piano (Andantino, quasi Allegretto), supported mainly by horn and subdued strings. The main section is a rondo, marked Allegro non troppo, that features a rhythmic theme on the piano whose infectious effervescence needs (and gets) little harmonic support. The piano writing turns darker and more muscular in the ensuing episode, though the bright and lively mood remains. The Polish flavor of the piece fades for a time here, but a playful dance theme in D minor brings back images, if not the sounds, of Krakow's dance halls. Again, there follows more serious, bravura writing, and then a rather bland but brief slow section is presented, which is probably the least effective episode in the entire work. The colorful dance music returns with some imaginative developmental ideas, as Chopin keeps the music light and uncomplicated to the end.

For the most part the orchestra's role is accompanimental, and at that almost dispensable. In fact, Chopin, cognizant of the limited orchestral part but also desiring wider performance of the piece, eventually fashioned a solo rendition of Krakowiak. Still, the work is to be preferred in its original version and while it may lack the depth of the later concertos, it is a thoroughly delightful, generally well-crafted composition.

Source: Robert Cummings (

Το Ρόντο α λα κρακόβιακ για πιάνο και ορχήστρα σε Φα μείζονα είναι από τα λιγότερο γνωστά έργα του Φρεντερίκ Σοπέν. Γράφτηκε στη Βαρσοβία το 1828 από τον 18χρονο τότε Γαλλοπολωνό συνθέτη, υπό την καθοδήγηση του δασκάλου του, Γιόζεφ Έλσνερ, και είναι το τρίτο κατά σειρά έργο του για πιάνο και ορχήστρα. Η σύνθεση έχει έντονο πολωνικό άρωμα και βασίζεται σ' έναν αναγεννησιακό χορό, τον Κρακόβιακ (Χορός της Κρακοβίας, Κρακοβιακός), αρκετά δημοφιλή στους κύκλους των αριστοκρατών της εποχής.

Το Ρόντο α λα κρακόβιακ παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά στις 18 Αυγούστου 1829 στη Βιένη, κατά τη διάρκεια της δεύτερης συναυλίας του νεαρού συνθέτη και ενθουσίασε το δύσκολο και απαιτητικό φιλόμουσο κοινό της πρωτεύουσας των Αψβούργων. Η πολωνική πρεμιέρα του έργου δόθηκε στις 22 Μαρτίου του 1830 στη Βαρσοβία.

Η πρωτότυπη παρτιτούρα του έργου φυλάσσεται στο Μουσείο Τσαρτορίσκι της Κρακοβίας και φέρει αφιέρωση στη δούκισσα Άννα Τσαρτορίσκα. Η Πολωνή ευγενής ήταν στενή φίλη του Σοπέν και η κόρη της, Ίζα, μαθήτριά του στο πιάνο. Κατά τη διάρκεια της παραμονής του στο Παρίσι, η Άννα Τσαρτορίσκα διοργάνωνε μουσικά απογευματινά στην πολυτελή κατοικία της και ο Σοπέν έβρισκε την ευκαιρία να αυτοσχεδιάζει στο πιάνο σε πολωνικά μουσικά θέματα.


Το Ρόντο α λα κρακόβιακ για πιάνο και ορχήστρα σε Φα μείζονα, του Φρεντερίκ Σοπέν, ερμηνεύει ο Αργεντινός κλασικός πιανίστας Nelson Goerner. Την Ορχήστρα του Δέκατου Όγδοου Αιώνα διευθύνει ο Frans Brüggen. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής της Φιλαρμονικής της Βαρσοβίας, στις 26 Φεβρουαρίου 2010.

Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)

♪ Rondo à la krakowiak for piano & orchestra in F major, Op.14 (1828)

i. Andantino quasi allegretto
ii. Allegro non troppo

Nelson Goerner, piano

Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century
Conductor: Frans Brüggen (1934-2014)

Concert Hall of the Warsaw Philharmonic, February 26, 2010


First publication: August 18, 2014 – Last update: September 30, 2017

Nelson Goerner

See also

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.2 in B flat major – Arthur Jussen, Radio Kamer Filharmonie, Frans Brüggen

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 80 – Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No.5 in D – Radio Kamer Filharmonie (The farewell concert), Frans Brüggen

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.