1985 (2018) – A film by Yen Tan – Cory Michael Smith, Virginia Madsen, Michael Chiklis, Jamie Chung

Wednesday, October 01, 2014

Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor – Daniel Müller-Schott, Danmarks Radio SymfoniOrkestret, Dmitrij Kitajenko

Opus 104 was Dvořák's second and final attempt at writing a cello concerto. The first, a 50-minute work in A major, was written very early in his career (1865), when his style was still markedly derived from those of his models – of which Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, and Schubert are most notable. He had also recently encountered the music of Richard Wagner, which perhaps helps to explain the grand scale of the work. The resulting effort was not very satisfactory to the composer, and Dvořák never bothered to orchestrate it; he would not attempt to write another (the work at hand) until thirty years later, after he had written all nine of his symphonies (not to mention numerous operatic, choral, orchestral, chamber, piano, and vocal works). Upon reading through the finished product, completed in February 1895, Dvořák's colleague and friend, Brahms, is said to have remarked, "Why on earth didn't I know that one could write a cello concerto like this? Had I known, I would have written one long ago".

The first performance was given in 1896 in London under Dvořák's own direction, with Leo Stern as the soloist. The cellist was to have been Hanus Wihan (a close friend of the composer, to whom the work was dedicated), but there were misunderstandings surrounding Wihan's suggested revisions (including the addition of a last-movement cadenza) to the publisher without the composer's consent. Wihan did eventually perform the work, as did many other artists; the concerto has retained a solid place in the modern repertory.

Source: Allen Schrott (allmusic.com)

Ο Αντονίν Ντβόρζακ συνέθεσε το Κονσέρτο για βιολοντσέλο σε Σι ελάσσονα το 1895, σ' ένα διάστημα τριών μηνών, λίγο πριν φύγει από τη Νέα Υόρκη. Εκείνη την εποχή λαχταρούσε να γυρίσει στην πατρίδα του, κι αυτή η νοσταλγία είναι αισθητή στη μουσική του. Μόλις ολοκλήρωσε το Κοντσέρτο, ο Ντβόρζακ διόρθωσε το τέλος του Φινάλε, επηρεασμένος από το θάνατο της κουνιάδας του, Josephina Kaumitzola που πέθανε στις 27 Μαΐου 1895, ένα μήνα αφού ο Ντβόρζακ επέστρεψε στην Πράγα. Αυτή η καινούργια εκδοχή του Φινάλε και κυρίως τα τελευταία εξήντα μέτρα που πρόσθεσε ο Ντβόρζακ, είναι από τα ωραιότερα που έγραψε ποτέ. Ο Ντβόρζακ αγαπούσε τη Ζοζεφίνα πολλά χρόνια και όταν εκείνη τον αρνήθηκε αυτός παντρεύτηκε την μικρότερη αδελφή της, Άννα. Ο ίδιος περιγράφει το Φινάλε του Κοντσέρτου ως εξής: «Το Φινάλε κλείνει σιγά σιγά, με ντιμινουέντο, σαν στεναγμός, με αναφορές στο πρώτο και το δεύτερο μέρος, το σόλο σβήνει πολύ σιγά (pianissimo), μετά βαθμιαία ο ήχος αυξάνεται πάλι, τα τελευταία μέτρα ακούγονται από ολόκληρη την ορχήστρα, και το έργο ολοκληρώνεται σε μία θυελλώδη ατμόσφαιρα».

Το Κονσέρτο για βιολοντσέλο σε Σι ελάσσονα, έργο 104 του Αντονίν Ντβόρζακ ερμηνεύει ο εξαιρετικά ταλαντούχος και διαρκώς ανερχόμενος Γερμανός βιολοντσελίστας Daniel Müller-Schott. Την Ορχήστρα της Ραδιοφωνίας της Δανίας διευθύνει ο Ρώσος αρχιμουσικός Dmitrij Kitajenko.

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

♪ Cello Concerto in B minor, Op.104 (

i. Allegro

ii. Adagio, ma non troppo
iii. Finale: Allegro moderato – Andante – Allegro vivo

Daniel Müller-Schott, cello

Danmarks Radio SymfoniOrkestret

Conductor: Dmitrij Kitajenko

(HD 720p)

First publication: October 1, 2014 – Last update: April 22, 2017

See also

Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor – Bruno Philippe, Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra, Stéphane Denève (HD 1080p)

Antonín Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor – Leonard Elschenbroich, Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, Ken-David Masur

Daniel Müller-Schott and Simon Trpčeski perform Cello Sonatas of Ludwig van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms and Frédéric Chopin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.