Sunday, February 22, 2015

Dollhouse: a concert performance of Martin Fröst

Dollhouse is not a concert, it's not a show. It is a performance where Martin Fröst appears as soloist, conductor, dancer, actor and conférencier in front of Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. Music by Göran Fröst, Manuel de Falla, Bent Sørensen, Paul Dukas, Igor Stravinsky and Anders Hillborg.

According to Martin Fröst, the "Dollhouse" is about liberation, both in physical and symbolic forms, of the invisible threads that both bind us together and that wear off.  It is a musical performance with the puppet doll in the center. On the one side, the puppet holds fast to its own threads and on the other, it manages to free itself and become alive. A form of musical metaphor in the footsteps of Pinocchio and Petrushka, a fusion between directing, choreography and music where we utilize everything from modern to traditional classical music.

Το Dollhouse (Κουκλόσπιτο) δεν είναι μία συναυλία ή ένα σόου. Είναι μία παράσταση στην οποία ο διάσημος Σουηδός κλαρινετίστας Μάρτιν Φροστ εμφανίζεται ως σολίστ, μαέστρος, χορευτής, ηθοποιός και κονφερανσιέ, επικεφαλής της Συμφωνικής Ορχήστρας του Γκέτεμποργκ, η οποία ερμηνεύει έργα των Göran Fröst, Manuel de Falla, Bent Sørensen, Paul Dukas, Igor Stravinsky και Anders Hillborg.

Όπως λέει ο Μάρτιν Φροστ, το θέμα του «Κουκλόσπιτου» είναι η απελευθέρωση, τόσο σε φυσική όσο και σε συμβολική μορφή, από τα αόρατα νήματα που μας ενώνουν ή μας χωρίζουν. Πρόκειται για μια μουσική παράσταση με την κούκλα μαριονέτα στο επίκεντρο. Από τη μία, η μαριονέτα κρατιέται από τα νήματά της, και από την άλλη κατορθώνει να απελευθερωθεί και να γίνει ζωντανή. Μια μουσική μεταφορά στα χνάρια του Πινόκιο και του Πετρούσκα, όπου η σκηνοθεσία και η χορογραφία γίνονται ένα, με τη χρήση σύγχρονης αλλά και παραδοσιακής κλασικής μουσικής.

Η παράσταση δόθηκε στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής του Γκέτεμποργκ στις 22 Οκτωβρίου 2014.

With English subtitles

Dollhouse: a concert performance of Martin Fröst

Göran Fröst: Klezmer Dances
Göran Fröst: D-tangled for clarinet and orchestra 
Manuel de Falla: Nana
Bent Sørensen: Doll steps in Venice
Paul Dukas: The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Igor Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite
Anders Hillborg: Peacock Tales

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Martin Fröst

Gothenburg Concert Hall, October 22, 2014

(HD 720p)

First publication: February 22, 2015 – Last update: November 22, 2017

See also

Olivier Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps – Martin Fröst, Lucas Debargue, Janine Jansen, Torleif Thedéen (Download 96kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit)

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra – All the posts

No comments:

Post a Comment