Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 67 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Gewandhausorchester, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

The form of BWV 67 ("Hold in remembrance Jesus Christ"), composed for the first Sunday after Easter 1724, bears a close relationship to BWV 104, and BWV 166, two other cantatas composed by Johann Sebastian Bach for the post-Easter period that year. In essence this consists of an opening chorus based on a biblical text (in this instance the opening words of the Cantata (taken from 2 Timothy 2:8) followed by an aria and a recitative. Then comes a chorale placed at the center of the work. This is succeeded by a recitative and aria, the work concluding with a simple four-part chorale harmonization, in the case of BWV 67 a strophe from the hymn by Jakob Ebert, "Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ" (1601). The present work was first performed in Leipzig on April 16, 1724, thus falling within the context of Bach's first annual cycle of cantatas composed in the city following his appointment as cantor in 1723. The anonymous text is based on the Gospel for the day (John 20:19-31), the story of doubting Thomas. The scoring is for corno di tirasi (a now obsolete brass instrument of the trumpet type), flute, two oboes d'amore, strings, and continuo, plus the customary four-part vocal forces. The opening chorus reflects the joy of Easter, the emphatic cries of "Halt" illustrative of its highly declamatory character. The celebratory nature of the Cantata is maintained in the following tenor aria, which is cast in dance-like triple time and features an obbligato part for oboe d'amore. The text refers to the ambiguity felt by Christ's followers in the aftermath of the Crucifixion – joy mixed with perplexity and doubt. The recitatives placed either side of the central chorale continue to reflect this ambivalence, although the chorale itself, a strophe from Nikolaus Hermann's hymn "Erschienen ist der herrlich Tag" (1560), is more positive. Now follows one of Bach's most original conceptions, a powerfully dramatic scena for bass with interjections from the sopranos, altos, and tenors of the chorus. The soloists' words are those of the risen Christ, "Peace be unto you", while the chorus tumultuously call upon Satan and hell to concede to His victory. Bach later adapted this number as the Gloria of the Lutheran Mass in A, BWV 234.

Source: Brian Robins (

Η εκκλησιαστική καντάτα "Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ", BWV 67, γράφτηκε από τον Μπαχ στη Λειψία για την πρώτη Κυριακή μετά το Πάσχα και παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά στις 16 Απριλίου του 1724.

Το έργο απαιτεί μικρό σύνολο από τρεις σολίστες (άλτο, τενόρο και μπάσο), τετραμερή χορωδία, corno da tirarsi (στην παρούσα ηχογράφηση χρησιμοποιείται όμποε ντ' αμόρε), slide κόρνο (όργανο για το οποίο ο Μπαχ έγραψε για ένα σύντομο χρονικό διάστημα· στην παρούσα ηχογράφηση χρησιμοποιείται τρομπέτα), φλάουτο τραβέρσο, δύο όμποε ντ' αμόρε, δύο βιολιά, βιόλα και μπάσο κοντίνουο (στην παρούσα ηχογράφηση το μπάσο κοντίνουο αποτελούν ένα φαγκότο, ένα βιολοντσέλο, ένα κοντραμπάσο και ένα κοντίνουο όργανο).

Την καντάτα "Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ", BWV 67, του Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ ερμηνεύουν η Χορωδία Αγοριών του Αγίου Θωμά της Λειψίας και η Ορχήστρα Gewandhaus της Λειψίας. Συμπράττουν οι σολίστες Jakob Wetzig (άλτο, μέλος της χορωδίας), Martin Patzold (τενόρος) και Matthias Weichert (μπάσος). Διευθύνει ο Γερμανός αρχιμουσικός, βαρύτονος, συνθέτης και ακαδημαϊκός Γκέοργκ Κρίστοφ Μπίλερ, σημερινός Κάντορας της Χορωδίας, από το 1992, και 16ος μετά τον Μπαχ.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

♪ Cantata BWV 67, "Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ" (Leipzig, 1724)

i. Chorus: Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ
ii. Aria (tenor): Mein Jesus ist erstanden
iii. Recitative (alto): Mein Jesu, heißest du des Todes Gift
iv. Chorale: Erschienen ist der herrlich Tag
v. Recitative (alto): Doch scheinet fast
vi. Aria (bass): Friede sei mit euch
vii. Chorale: Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ

Thomaner Jakob Wetzig, alto
Martin Petzold, tenor
Matthias Weichert, bass

Thomanerchor Leipzig
Georg Christoph Biller

Rondeau Production 2014

(HD 1080p – Audio video)

First publication: April 19, 2015 – Last update: March 28, 2018

See also

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 182 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 23 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 22 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 4 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 31 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 190 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (Audio video)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.