Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No.20 in D minor | Edward Elgar: Symphony No.2 in E flat major – Saleem Ashkar (photo), Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Nikolaj Znaider – Saturday, January 27, 2018, 08:00 PM EST (UTC-5) / Sunday, January 28, 2018, 03:00 AM EET (UTC+2) – Live on Livestream

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Louis Théodore Gouvy: Sonata in G minor for clarinet and piano – Christian Debauve, Johannes Schmidt

Louis Théodore Gouvy (03/07/1819 - 21/04/1898)

197η επέτειος από τη γέννησή του / 197th anniversary of his birth

Théodore Gouvy, 1860
Ο Λουί Τεοντόρ Γκουβί γεννήθηκε στο Γκοφοντέρ της Γαλλίας (σημερινό Ζααρμπρίκεν της Γερμανίας) στις 3 Ιουλίου 1819. Παρότι έπαιζε πιάνο από μικρός, για τη μουσική ενδιαφέρθηκε μόλις στα δεκαοκτώ του, όταν οι γονείς του τον έστειλαν να σπουδάσει νομικά στο Παρίσι. Η γνωριμία του με τον συνθέτη Αντόλφ Αντάμ (Adolphe Charles Adam, 1803-1856, «Ζιζέλ») έπαιξε καταλυτικό ρόλο στην απόφασή του να ασχοληθεί επαγγελματικά με τη μουσική. Καταγόταν από την Αλσατία, μια περιοχή που συχνά άλλαζε χέρια μεταξύ Γαλλίας και Γερμανίας, μετά από αιματηρούς πολέμους. Έτσι, ο Γκουβί ήταν αδύνατο να μη διαποτιστεί και από τους δύο πολιτισμούς: τον Γερμανικό και τον Γαλλικό.

Ο Γκουβί ήταν υπέρμαχος της καθαρής μουσικής και δη της συμφωνικής. Σε μία εποχή που οι Γάλλοι ήταν ξετρελαμένοι με την όπερα, ήταν απολύτως λογικό το έργο του να μην έχει την απήχηση που του άρμοζε, παρά τις ενθαρρυντικές κριτικές του Εκτόρ Μπερλιόζ και την εκτίμηση του Γιοχάνες Μπραμς. Το έργο του, πάντως, εκτιμήθηκε ιδιαίτερα στη Γερμανία, την Αυστρία, την Αγγλία, τη Σκανδιναβία και τη Ρωσία, χώρες με μεγάλη παράδοση στην ορχηστρική μουσική.

Χρόνο με το χρόνο, το έργο του Γκουβί περιέπιπτε στην αφάνεια, από την οποία ανασύρθηκε μόλις το 1994, όταν ο Γάλλος μαέστρος Ζακ Ουτμάν και η Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα της Λορένης ηχογράφησαν το «Ρέκβιεμ» για τη νεοσύστατη δισκογραφική εταιρεία Κ617. Από τότε άρχισε να ξανακούγεται δειλά-δειλά το όνομα του Γκουβί, που μας κληροδότησε πάνω από 200 συνθέσεις, με πολλά έργα μουσικής δωματίου, 7 ή κατ' άλλους 9 συμφωνίες, κοσμικές καντάτες με αρχαιοελληνικό περιεχόμενο («Οιδίπους επί Κολωνώ», «Ιφιγένεια εν Ταύροις», «Ηλέκτρα», «Πολυξένη»), δύο όπερες ("Le Cid", "Mateo Falcone") και έργα θρησκευτικής μουσικής ("Requiem", "Stabat Mater", «Μικρή Λειτουργία» και την καντάτα "Golgotha".) Ο Λουί Τεοντόρ Γκουβί πέθανε στη Λειψία την 21η Απριλίου 1898.


Τη Σονάτα σε Σολ ελάσσονα για κλαρινέτο και πιάνο, έργο 67, του Λουί Τεοντόρ Γκουβί, ερμηνεύουν οι Christian Debauve (κλαρινέτο) και Johannes Schmidt (πιάνο).

The French composer Louis Théodore Gouvy was born on 1819 into a French-speaking family in the village of Goffontaine, in the Sarre, a region on the France-Prussia border (now Saarbrücken-Schafbrücke, Germany). He was certainly no child prodigy, and indeed is said to have exhibited almost no interest nor aptitude for music as a youngster. In fact, he received his formal education at a training college at Metz, after which he went to Paris in 1836 to pursue legal studies. However, he also took piano lessons with Billard, a former pupil of the virtuoso Henri Herz, which suddenly began to divert his energies away from his law courses, from which, incidentally, he failed to graduate. In 1839, Gouvy elected to completely change his career direction and saw to it that he was seen in the fashionable Paris salons frequented by Adolphe Adam and others, and secured theory lessons privately with Elwart. In 1841, Gouvy became a piano student of Pierre Zimmermann, and also spent several months in Berlin, where his first efforts in composition were published at his expense.

After further study under conductor and composer C.F. Rungenhagen, Gouvy passed the years 1844 - 1845 in Italy, completing his first symphony. This was premiered in Paris by an ad hoc orchestra a year later. During the years that followed, quite a few of Gouvy's works were given concert performances, almost always at his own expense.

After 1855, finding that his music was only given a lukewarm reception in France, he began to spend time in several German centers, and secured performances of several of his works in Leipzig and Berlin. Gouvy's only stage work, the opera Der Cid, was accepted in Dresden in 1863, but it was never performed. A man of independent means, Gouvy never secured any professional appointments, but received honorary membership in the Berlin Academy in 1895 and became a Chevalier of the French Legion d'Honneur in 1896. He completed more than 90 works spanning many genres, though was at best an averagely gifted amateur composer. He died in Leipzig on 21 April 1898.

Source: Michael Jameson (

Louis Théodore Gouvy (1819-1898)

♪ Sonata in G minor for clarinet and piano, Op.67 (1875)

i. Allero moderato
ii. Andante cantabile
iii. Rondo. Allegro non troppo

Christian Debauve, clarinet

Johannes Schmidt, piano

Vereinshaus Fraulautern, Saarlouis, April 26, 2009 (26 Απριλίου 2009)

(HD 1080p)

Πρώτη δημοσίευση: 21 Απριλίου 2015 – First publication: April 21, 2015
Τελευταία ενημέρωση: 3 Ιουλίου 2016 – Last update: July 3, 2016

No comments:

Post a Comment