Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 35 – Carlos Mena, Musica Aeterna

"Geist und Seele wird verwirret" (Spirit and soul become confused), BWV 35, is a church cantata by Johann Sebastian Bach. He composed the solo cantata for alto voice in Leipzig for the twelfth Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on 8 September 1726.

Bach composed the Cantata in his fourth year as Thomaskantor (musical director) in Leipzig. The text is based on the day's prescribed reading from the Gospel of Mark, the healing of a deaf mute man. The librettist is Georg Christian Lehms, whose poetry Bach had used already in Weimar as the basis for solo cantatas. The text quotes ideas from the gospel and derives from these the analogy that as the tongue of the deaf mute man was opened, the believer should be open to admire God's miraculous deeds. The cantatas for this Sunday have a positive character, which Bach stressed in earlier works for the occasion by including trumpets in the score. In this work, he uses instead an obbligato solo organ in several movements.

The Cantata is structured in seven movements in two parts, to be performed before and after the sermon. Both parts are opened by an instrumental sinfonia with solo organ, probably derived from concerto music composed earlier in Weimar or Köthen. The alto singer performs a sequence of alternating arias and recitatives, accompanied in all three arias by the organ as an equal partner. The orchestra is formed by two oboes, taille (baroque tenor oboe), strings and basso continuo. The alto part is demanding and was probably written with a specific singer in mind, as with the two other solo cantatas composed in the same period.


Ο Ισπανός κόντρα-τενόρος Carlos Mena και το μπαρόκ σύνολο Musica Aeterna ερμηνεύουν την Καντάτα "Geist und Seele wird verwirret", BWV 35, του Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ. Η Καντάτα παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά στη Λειψία, στις 8 Σεπτεμβρίου 1726. Το έργο απαιτεί μικρό σύνολο από άλτο, δύο όμποε, taille (baroque tenor oboe), όργανο, δύο βιολιά, βιόλα και μπάσο κοντίνουο. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στον καθεδρικό ναό του Αγίου Μαρτίνου στην Μπρατισλάβα (Σλοβακία) στις 10 Ιουνίου 2013.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

♪ Cantata BWV 35, "Geist und Seele wird verwirret" (1726)

Part I
i. Sinfonia
ii. Aria: Geist und Seele wird verwirret
iii. Recitative: Ich wundre mich
iv. Aria: Gott hat alles wohlgemacht

Part II
v. Sinfonia
vi. Recitative: Ach, starker Gott
vii. Aria: Ich wünsche nur bei Gott zu leben

Carlos Mena, countertenor
Monika Melcová, organ

Musica Aeterna
Artistic leader: Peter Zajíček

St Martin's Cathedral, Bratislava, Days of Early Music Festival, June 10, 2013

(HD 1080p)

First publication: June 24, 2015 / Πρώτη δημοσίευση: 24 Ιουνίου 2015
Last update: December 31, 2016 / Τελευταία ενημέρωση: 31 Δεκεμβρίου 2016

See also / Δείτε επίσης

Antonio Vivaldi: Nisi Dominus, & Stabat Mater – Carlos Mena, Ricercar Consort, Philippe Pierlot

Under The Shadow – Carlos Mena, Ghalmia Senouci, Disfonik Orchestra, Jacques Beaud (Audio video)

Domenico Scarlatti: Salve Regina in A major – Carlos Mena, Ensemble 415, Chiara Banchini

Antonio Vivaldi: Stabat Mater – Carlos Mena, Ensemble 415, Chiara Banchini

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.