Sofia Gubaidulina, composer

Sofia Gubaidulina, composer
Sofia Gubaidulina

Monday, July 27, 2015

Domenico Scarlatti: Salve Regina in A major – Carlos Mena, Ensemble 415, Chiara Banchini

In his sacred music Domenico showed elements of the harmonic richness and melodic individuality which flood his later keyboard writing, but the main features of his settings of emotive sacred texts are tuneful melodies which mix religious deference with occasional elements of the opera. This readily approachable style is nonetheless underpinned by a sound compositional technique. The fine setting of the Salve regina begins with just such rich harmony and elegance of line, after which comes a dramatic section alternating trumpet-like calls ("Ad te clamamus") with more intense grave sections ("exsules, filii Hevae"). The vocal line returns to more lyrical writing at "Eia ergo", but the upper strings are more playful in their imitation of each other. "Nobis post hoc exsilium" confidently starts with textbook imitation but the mood quietens at "ostende". The most emotive (and individual) writing is reserved for "O clemens, o pia", where Scarlatti's characteristic use of dissonance and bitter-sweet melody gives rise to music of great beauty before the final "Amen" returns, albeit restrained by its religious context, to a more operatic style.

Source: Robert King, 1996

Μια εκπληκτική ερμηνεία του έργου "Salve Regina" του Ντομένικο Σκαρλάτι, από τον Ισπανό κόντρα-τενόρο Carlos Mena. Επικεφαλής του μπαρόκ συνόλου Ensemble 415, η σπουδαία Ελβετή βιολονίστρια Chiara Banchini. (Στο encore ο Carlos Mena ερμηνεύει την υπέροχη άρια "In lagrime stemprato" από το ορατόριο "Maddalena ai piedi di Cristo" του Αντόνιο Καλντάρα.) Η συναυλία δόθηκε στην εκκλησία του Αγίου Μάρκου στο Μιλάνο, στις 11 Νοεμβρίου 2010.

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

♪ Salve Regina in A major (1756)

i. Salve Regina
ii. Ad te clamamus (Andante)
iii. Exules filii Evae (Grave)
iv. Ad te suspiramus (Adagio)
v. Eja ergo (Andante)
vi. Nobis post hoc exsilium ostende
vii. O clemens (Adagio)
viii. Amen (Allegro)


Antonio Caldara (1670-1736)

♪ In lagrime stemprato (from the oratorio "Maddalena ai piedi di Cristo", c. 1700)

Carlos Mena, countertenor

Ensemble 415
Violin & Conductor: Chiara Banchini

San Marco, Milano, November 11, 2010

(HD 710p)

First publication: July 27, 2015 / Πρώτη δημοσίευση: 27 Ιουλίου 2015
Last update: December 31, 2016 / Τελευταία ενημέρωση: 31 Δεκεμβρίου 2016

See also / Δείτε επίσης

Antonio Vivaldi: Nisi Dominus, & Stabat Mater – Carlos Mena, Ricercar Consort, Philippe Pierlot

Under The Shadow – Carlos Mena, Ghalmia Senouci, Disfonik Orchestra, Jacques Beaud (Audio video)

Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata BWV 35 – Carlos Mena, Musica Aeterna

Antonio Vivaldi: Stabat Mater – Carlos Mena, Ensemble 415, Chiara Banchini

Alexandre Tharaud plays Domenico Scarlatti (Audio video)

Aldo Ciccolini plays Domenico Scarlatti (Audio video)

No comments:

Post a Comment