Lukas Geniušas

Lukas Geniušas
Lukas Geniušas (b. 1990), pianist – Second Prize (XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015)

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Johann Sebastian Bach: Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 – Evgeni Koroliov

Οι «Παραλλαγές Γκόλντμπεργκ» του Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ αποτελούν ένα από τα πιο σημαντικά έργα που έχουν γραφτεί για τσέμπαλο και το σπουδαιότερο δείγμα παραλλαγών στην Ιστορία της Μουσικής. Το έργο, που αποτελείται από μία άρια και τριάντα παραλλαγές με την άρια να επαναλαμβάνεται στο κλείσιμο, πήρε την ονομασία του από τον πρώτο ερμηνευτή του, τον Johann Gottlieb Goldberg (1727-1756), Γερμανό βιρτουόζο τσεμπαλίστα και οργανίστα, καθώς και συνθέτη του ύστερου μπαρόκ και των αρχών της κλασικής περιόδου, ο οποίος όταν κλήθηκε να ερμηνεύσει τις «Παραλλαγές» ήταν μόλις δεκατεσσάρων χρόνων.

Τις «Παραλλαγές Γκόλντμπεργκ» του Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ ερμηνεύει με τρόπο που κόβει την ανάσα και κάνει τον ακροατή να κατανοήσει σε βάθος τον μεγάλο συνθέτη, ο βραβευμένος Ρώσος πιανίστας Εβγκένι Κορολιόφ (Μόσχα, 1949). Καταγραφή αναφοράς του 2008 στο Γκεβάντχαους της Λειψίας, στο πλαίσιο του Φεστιβάλ Μπαχ (Bachfest Leipzig).

The "Goldberg Variations" is the last of a series of keyboard music Bach published under the title of Clavierόbung, and is often regarded as the most serious and ambitious composition ever written for harpsichord. Based on a single ground bass theme, the variations display not only Bach's exceptional knowledge of diverse styles of music of the day but also his exquisite performing techniques. Being also the largest of all clavier pieces published during the Baroque period, the work soars high above others in terms of its encyclopaedic character. From this, it is often considered that it sums up the entire history of Baroque variation, the "Diabelli Variations" by Beethoven being the Classical counterpart. However, doomed perhaps by its requirements of virtuoso techniques from a performer, it was not as popularly known as the "Well-Tempered Clavier", which was not even published during the composer's lifetime. Nonetheless, the work has long been regarded as the most important set of variations composed in the Baroque era: in 1774 Johann Philipp Kirnberger, one of Bach's pupils, referred to it as "the best variations", while in 1802 Johann Nicolaus Forkel, the author of the first ever biography of J. S. Bach, praised the work as the "model, according to which all variations should be made".

Koroliov's performances of Bach's music usually arouse great excitement, and his rendering of Bach's famous 30 variations is no exception. Koroliov is a consummate artist and he captivates his listeners with an enormous spiritual understanding of the works he performs, and in whose service he sets the wide range of his artistic and interpretive abilities.

It is the constant switch between tension and relaxation in dynamic and tempo and the breathtaking intensity of his interpretation that makes the listener truly understand Bach. Evgenij Koroliov was very young when he discovered Bach – he heard Glenn Gould in Moscow in 1957 and was influenced by the legendary Russian pianists Maria Judina and Sviatoslav Richter.

In the 1960s and 70s he won important piano competitions ranging from the "Bachwettbewerb Leipzig" and the "Van Cliburn Competition" to the "Grand Prix Clara Haskil."

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

♪ Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 (1741)

i. Aria
ii. Variatio 1 a 1 Clav
iii. Variatio 2 a 1 Clav
iv. Variatio 3 Canone all' Unisono a 1 Clav
v. Variatio 4 a 1 Clav
vi. Variatio 5 a 1 ovvero 2 Clav
vii. Variatio 6 Canone alla Seconda a 1 Clav
viii. Variatio 7 a 1 ovvero 2 Clav al tempo di Giga
ix. Variatio 8 a 2 Clav
x. Variatio 9 Canone alla Terza a 1 Clav
xi. Variatio 10 Fughetta a 1 Clav
xii. Variatio 11 a 2 Clav
xiii. Variatio 12 Canone alla Quarta a 1 Clav
xiv. Variatio 13 a 2 Clav
xv. Variatio 14 a 2 Clav
xvi. Variatio 15 Canone alla Quinta a 1 Clav
xvii. Variatio 16 Ouverture a 1 Clav
xviii. Variatio 17 a 2 Clav
xix. Variatio 18 Canone alla Sexta a 1 Clav
xx. Variatio 19 a 1 Clav
xxi. Variatio 20 a 2 Clav
xxii. Variatio 21 Canone alla Settima a 1 Clav
xxiii. Variatio 22 a 1 Clav
xxiv. Variatio 23 a 2 Clav
xxv. Variatio 24 Canone all' Ottava a 1 Clav
xxvi. Variatio 25 a 2 Clav
xxvii. Variatio 26 a 2 Clav
xxviii. Variatio 27 Canone alla Nona a 2 Clav
xxix. Variatio 28 a 2 Clav
xxx. Variatio 29 a 1 ovvero 2 Clav
xxxi. Variatio 30 Quodlibet a 1 Clav
xxxii. Aria da Capo e Fine

Evgeni Koroliov, piano

Σκηνοθεσία (Direction): Michael Beyer

Gewandhaus Leipzig (Leipzig Bach Festival), 2008

(HD 720)

Δημοσιεύτηκε στο Youtube για λογαριασμό του Blog: Πρόσωπα της Κλασικής Μουσικής (Faces of Classical Music)

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Mahan Esfahani: Harpsichord Concert – Johann Kuhnau, JS Bach, WF Bach, CPE Bach, Bohuslav Martinů, Sergei Prokofiev (HD 1080p)

Johann Sebastian Bach: St Matthew Passion, BWV 244 – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller – St. Thomas Church, 2012 (Download the concert)

No comments:

Post a Comment