Sofia Gubaidulina, composer

Sofia Gubaidulina, composer
Sofia Gubaidulina

Sunday, September 06, 2015

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis – Orchestra of the Swan, Kenneth Woods

106η επέτειος από την πρεμιέρα του έργου, στις 6 Σεπτεμβρίου 1910
106th anniversary of the first performance of the work, on September 6, 1910

Ο σπουδαίος Άγγλος συνθέτης Ραλφ Βον Γουίλιαμς, ο οποίος ήταν βαθύς γνώστης της αγγλικής αναγεννησιακής μουσικής και εμπνεύστηκε απ' αυτήν, συνέθεσε το έργο «Φαντασία σε ένα θέμα του Τόμας Τάλις» στις αρχές του 1910 και το παρουσίασε για πρώτη φορά στις 6 Σεπτεμβρίου του ίδιου χρόνου στο χορωδιακό φεστιβάλ Three Choirs Festival του Γκλόστερ, ένα από τα αρχαιότερα του κόσμου. Το έργο, η διάρκεια του οποίου κυμαίνεται γύρω στα 16 λεπτά, ενθουσίασε το κοινό και συνεχίζει να είναι ένα από τα πιο γνωστά και δημοφιλή έργα του συνθέτη.

Τον πυρήνα του έργου, το οποίο είναι γραμμένο για ορχήστρα εγχόρδων, αποτελεί ο θρησκευτικός ύμνος "Why Fum'th In Fight?" του σημαντικού Άγγλου συνθέτη της Αναγέννησης, Τόμας Τάλις (Thomas Tallis, 1505-1585), εξού και η αναφορά του ονόματός του στον τίτλο της σύνθεσης. Ο Τάλις έντυσε με μουσική τις δύο πρώτες στροφές του Δεύτερου Ψαλμού του Δαυίδ «Ίνα τι εφρύαξαν έθνη..». Μετά από αρκετές αναθεωρήσεις, η «Φαντασία σε ένα θέμα του Τόμας Τάλις» πήρε την τελική της μορφή το 1919.

Την αγγλική ορχήστρα δωματίου Orchestra of the Swan διευθύνει ο σπουδαίος Αμερικανός μαέστρος και βιολοντσελίστας Kenneth Woods.

The first performance of Vaughan Williams' Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis took place at the Three Choirs Festival in Gloucester Cathedral on September 6, 1910. The program was primarily devoted to Sir Edward Elgar's oratorio The Dream of Gerontius, which may partly account for its relatively cool reception. But its treatment, unusual for its day, of the unusual source material may also have puzzled the audience.

Vaughan Williams encountered Tallis' hymn while editing The English Hymnal in 1906; it had first appeared in Archbishop Parker's Metrical Psalter in 1567, set to the words, "Why fumeth in fight?". The peculiar modal qualities of the tune, with its prominent flatted seventh, not only allowed the composer considerable harmonic freedom from the prevailing strictures of diatonicism and chromaticism, but also made possible the simultaneous sense of the ancient and the modern that is the work's hallmark.

The Tallis Fantasia is scored for two string orchestras, one functioning as a "distant" choir, and a solo string quartet. After five widely spaced chords and a few bars in which the theme is fragmentarily mused upon by pizzicato basses, cellos, and swaying middle strings, arco, Tallis' hymn tune is stated in its original harmony by violas and celli with tremolando accompaniment by the high strings, and is then repeated in a setting that exploits all of the harmonic and contrapuntal facilities of a large string section.

The string choirs then separate for a short section in which fragments of Tallis' theme in the first string orchestra are answered by distant chordal musings from the second orchestra. This serves not only as a brief development section but also introduces the solo string quartet, whose masterly counterpoint demonstrates Vaughan Williams' affinity for stringed instruments. As the rhapsodic meditation increases in intensity, the more modern aspects of the composition come into focus, with vaguely impressionistic harmonies mingling with the modal, leading to an impressive climax in which the two orchestras are unleashed in their full chordal power. The string quartet leads a final, luminous musing on Tallis' tune, and the Fantasia ends with a short coda in which the solo violin pronounces a brief benediction as the orchestra falls away.

Source: Mark Satola (

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)

♪ Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis (1910, 1919)

Orchestra of the Swan

Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Kenneth Woods

London, Cadogan Hall, 2012

(HD 720p)

Πρώτη δημοσίευση: 6 Σεπτεμβρίου 2015 – First publication: September 6, 2015
Τελευταία ενημέρωση: 6 Σεπτεμβρίου 2016 – Last update: September 6, 2016

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending – Tamsin Waley-Cohen, Orchestra of the Swan, Kenneth Woods

No comments:

Post a Comment