Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Saturday, October 10, 2015

Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, arr. for violin & piano – Charlie Siem, Walter Delahunt (rehearsal)

Ο Καμίγ Σαιν-Σανς έγραψε το έργο «Εισαγωγή και ρόντο καπριτσιόζο» για βιολί και ορχήστρα, σε Λα ελάσσονα, το 1863, για τον βιρτουόζο Ισπανό βιολονίστα και συνθέτη της Ρομαντικής περιόδου, Πάμπλο ντε Σαρασάτε (Pablo de Sarasate, 1844-1908), στον οποίο και το αφιέρωσε. Το έργο, ιδιαίτερης τεχνικής δυσκολίας για τον βιολονίστα ερμηνευτή, έχει γνωρίσει πολλές διασκευές, με γνωστότερες αυτές από τον Ζωρζ Μπιζέ (για βιολί και πιάνο) και από τον Κλωντ Ντεμπυσσύ (για δύο πιάνα).

Το έργο «Εισαγωγή και ρόντο καπριτσιόζο» του Καμίγ Σαιν-Σανς, σε διασκευή για βιολί και πιάνο από τον Ζωρζ Μπιζέ, ερμηνεύουν – κατά τη διάρκεια πρόβας – ο διάσημος (και ως μοντέλο) 29χρονος Άγγλος βιολονίστας Τσάρλι Σιέμ και ο διακεκριμένος Καναδός πιανίστας Walter Delahunt. Ο Τσάρλι Σιέμ παίζει ένα βιολί του 1737, κατασκευασμένο από τον Guarneri del Gesu. Το βιολί αυτό, γνωστό επίσης ως d’Egville, ανήκε προηγουμένως στον Γεχούντι Μενουχίν (1916-1999).

Charlie Siem plays a violin made by Guarneri del Gesu from 1735, also known as the d’Egville. The violin was previously owned by Yehudi Menuhin (1916-1999).

The Introduction and Rondo capriccioso, Op.28, is one of Saint-Saëns' few genuine showpieces. It was composed for his friend, the virtuoso violinist Pablo de Sarasate (1844-1908), for whom he had already written the Violin Concerto in A major, Op.20 (1859), and for whom he would eventually create the Violin Concerto in B minor, Op.61 (1880). Whereas the Op.20 Violin Concerto was written when the violinist was only 24 years of age, the Introduction and Rondo capriccioso is deliberately challenging – a testimony to the mature master's technique. Sarasate's frequent programming of the work did a great deal for its popularity in the years after its publication (1870); its appeal was wide enough, in fact, that both George Bizet and Claude Debussy made arrangements of it – the former for violin and piano, and the latter for piano, four hands. — John Palmer (

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

♪ Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, Op.28 (1863)

Charlie Siem, violin
Walter Delahunt, piano

(Πρόβα / Rehearsal)

Denmark, Gavnø Castle, 2014

(HD 720p)

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin Concerto No.5 in A major – Charlie Siem, Gabriele Bonolis

César Franck: Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major – Charlie Siem, Walter Delahunt

Johannes Brahms: Violin Sonata No.3 in D minor – Charlie Siem, Walter Delahunt

Henryk Wieniawski: Polonaise de Concert No.1 in D major "Polonaise Brillante" – Charlie Siem, Walter Delahunt

Ole Bull: Cantabile doloroso e Rondo giocoso, for violin and orchestra – Charlie Siem, London Symphony Orchestra, Andrew Gourlay

Johannes Brahms: Violin Sonata No.1 in G major – Charlie Siem, Itamar Golan

Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, arr. for violin & piano – Charlie Siem, Caroline Jaya-Ratnam


Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor – Daniel Lozakovich, Talich Philharmonia Prague, Jan Talich (HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.