Sofia Gubaidulina, composer

Sofia Gubaidulina, composer
Sofia Gubaidulina

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Ludwig van Beethoven: "Egmont" Overture – Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

In Memoriam Kurt Masur (18/07/1927 - 19/12/2015)

Η δυναμική και εκφραστική εισαγωγή «Έγκμοντ» είναι ένα από τα τελευταία έργα της δεύτερης περιόδου του Λούντβιχ βαν Μπετόβεν. Είναι διάσημη όσο και η εισαγωγή «Κοριολανός» και παρόμοιου ύφους με την Πέμπτη Συμφωνία την οποία ο συνθέτης είχε ολοκληρώσει δύο χρόνια νωρίτερα.

Πρόκειται για την ουβερτούρα μιας δεκαμερούς σύνθεσης προγραμματικού χαρακτήρα, εμπνευσμένης από το θεατρικό έργο «Έγκμοντ» του Γιόχαν Βόλφγκανγκ φον Γκαίτε. Ο Μπετόβεν έγραψε την παρτιτούρα κατά τη διετία 1809-1810, δηλαδή κατά την περίοδο των Ναπολεόντειων Πολέμων, όταν η γαλλική κυριαρχία είχε εξαπλωθεί σε ολόκληρη σχεδόν την Ευρώπη. Με το έργο του αυτό, που αναφέρεται στη ζωή και τον ηρωισμό του Ολλανδού κόμη του Έγκμοντ (16ος αι.), ο συνθέτης εκφράζει τις προσωπικές πολιτικές του ανησυχίες εξυμνώντας την αυτοθυσία του Έγκμοντ, ο οποίος καταδικάζεται σε θάνατο επειδή όρθωσε το ανάστημά του στην καταπίεση της εξουσίας. Μάλιστα, λέγεται ότι, όταν ο Γκαίτε άκουσε τη μουσική του Μπετόβεν για το θεατρικό του έργο, δήλωσε ενθουσιασμένος ότι ο συνθέτης είχε εκφράσει τις δραματουργικές προθέσεις του με «αξιοσημείωτη ιδιοφυΐα».

Lamoral, Count Egmont (1522-1568), was a historical figure immortalized in Goethe's tragedy of 1788, the play for which Beethoven later provided incidental music. Egmont, a Dutch nobleman, was on the one hand a loyal subject of Philip II of Spain – he pled Philip's troth before Mary I of England – and on the other a fervent opponent of the repressive measures visited on the Netherlands by the Spanish regime.

He could neither support the governor-general nor bring himself to join a military insurrection against the Duke of Alba, and was at length captured and beheaded as a traitor for having entertained such high moral scruples.

Beethoven's overture is altogether appropriate to the swashbuckling tale. It begins with a terrifying unison F and then a fateful, sinister progression in F minor. The melodic undulations in woodwinds and first violins are picked up by the cellos, which work the material into the restless theme of the Allegro, still in minor. The second theme is a major-mode version of the mysterious chords heard in the opening bars. A taut sonata makes its way routinely on through to recapitulation, at which point the insistent chords of the second theme are interrupted by a delicate modulation in the woodwinds. From these there breaks forth a coda in F major of rousing military triumph, with piccolos and heroic brass – quite the equal of the memorable coda that concludes the Fifth Symphony.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

♪ "Egmont" Overture, Op.84 (1810)

Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Kurt Masur

Directed by Bob Coles

Kurt Masur and the Gewandhausorchester celebrate Germany's "Peaceful Revolution" | Church of St. Nicolai, Leipzig, Germany, October 9, 2009 (Εκκλησία του Αγίου Νικολάου στη Λειψία, 9 Οκτωβρίου 2009).

Βίντεο υψηλής ευκρίνειας με υψηλή ποιότητα ήχου
High definition video with high quality audio

(HD 1080p)

See also

Live Concert from the Church St Nicolai, Leipzig – Johann Sebastian Bach, Felix Mendelssohn, Ludwig van Beethoven – Nancy Argenta, Viktoria Mullova, Jürgen Wolf, Gewandhausorchester, Gewandhaus Choir, Thomanerchor Leipzig, Herbert Blomstedt, Georg Christoph Biller (HD 1080p)

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.2 in D major – Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

Ludwig van Beethoven: Romances for Violin and Orchestra No.1 in G major & No.2 in F major – Renaud Capuçon, Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

Johann Sebastian Bach: "Fürchte dich nicht", BWV 228 | Felix Mendelssohn: "Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen über dir" – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (HD 1080p)

Kurt Masur (1927-2015) – In Memoriam

Οδυνηρές απουσίες στον κόσμο της Μουσικής / Painful absences in the world of Music

Ludwig van Beethoven: "Egmont" Overture – Christian Thielemann (Full HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment