Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Monday, February 22, 2016

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Το Τρίτο Κοντσέρτο για πιάνο και ορχήστρα, του Σεργκέι Προκόφιεφ, γράφτηκε το καλοκαίρι του 1921, στη Βρετάνη. Οι απόκρημνες, παραθαλάσσιες περιοχές της βορειοδυτικής Γαλλίας, αποτελούσαν πόλο έλξης για πολλούς σημαντικούς καλλιτέχνες της εποχής, οι οποίοι εμπνέονταν από την άγρια ομορφιά του τοπίου. Το ίδιο συνέβη και με τον Προκόφιεφ που πέρασε το μεγαλύτερο μέρος εκείνου του καλοκαιριού συνθέτοντας και, στον ελεύθερο χρόνο του, κάνοντας παρέα με όσους Ρώσους καλλιτέχνες είχαν μεταναστεύσει εκεί. Ανάμεσά τους ήταν και ο μεγάλος συμβολιστής ποιητής Κονσταντίν Μπαλμόντ, στον οποίο αφιέρωσε ο Προκόφιεφ το Κοντσέρτο του. Η θριαμβευτική πρεμιέρα του έργου δόθηκε στις 16 Δεκεμβρίου 1921, στο Σικάγο, από τη Συμφωνική της πόλης, υπό τη διεύθυνση του Φρέντερικ Στοκ, με σολίστ τον ίδιο τον συνθέτη.

Το Κοντσέρτο για πιάνο αρ. 3 σε Ντο μείζονα, έργο 26 του Σεργκέι Προκόφιεφ, ερμηνεύει ο Ρώσος πιανίστας Ντένις Ματσούεφ. Την Ορχήστρα του Θεάτρου Μαρίινσκι διευθύνει ο διεθνούς φήμης Ρώσος αρχιμουσικός Βαλέρι Γκεργκίεφ.

Sergei Prokofiev began work on the Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26, as early as 1913 when he wrote a theme with variations which he then set aside. Although he revisited the sketches in 1916-1917, he did not fully devote himself to the project until 1921 when he was spending the summer in Brittany.

Prokofiev himself played the solo part at the premiere on 16 December 1921 in Chicago with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Frederick Stock. The work did not gain immediate popularity and had to wait until 1922 to be confirmed in the 20th century canon, after Serge Koussevitzky conducted a lavishly praised performance in Paris. The first Soviet performance was on 22 March 1925, by Samuil Feinberg, with the Orchestra of the Theatre of the Revolution under Konstantin Saradzhev.

Ο Ντένις Ματσούεφ (γεννημένος στις 11 Ιουνίου 1975, στη ρωσική πόλη Ιρκούτσκ) συγκαταλέγεται ανάμεσα στους πιο περιζήτητους πιανίστες της γενιάς του. Βρέθηκε γρήγορα ανάμεσα στα αστέρια του διεθνούς στερεώματος μετά τη σπουδαία νίκη του στον 11o Διεθνή Διαγωνισμό Τσαϊκόφσκι στη Μόσχα το 1998. Βραβευμένος με το σημαντικό Βραβείο Σοστακόβιτς και με το Κρατικό Βραβείο της Ρωσικής Ομοσπονδίας στον τομέα Λογοτεχνία και Τέχνες, έχει συμπράξει με τις διασημότερες ορχήστρες και έχει δώσει εκατοντάδες ρεσιτάλ στους πιο σημαντικούς συναυλιακούς χώρους σε όλο τον κόσμο.

Denis Matsuev was born in Irkutsk, Russia, on June 11, 1975. He is one of those electrifying pianists often associated with finger-busting repertory. But his keyboard persona is rather perfectly balanced: its thunder and hair-raising brilliance coexist nicely with delicacy and nuance to yield an interpretive depth of a rare kind. In short, he is an artist who can bowl his audiences over with pyrotechnics one moment, then mesmerize them with poetic rapture the next. His repertory as a soloist is rich in the concertos of Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, and Prokofiev, and his recitals feature works by that trio as well, but also Schumann, Chopin, Scriabin, and a spate of other notables. Matsuev has appeared with the major orchestras of New York, Chicago, Pittsburgh, London, Paris, Berlin, Moscow, and St. Petersburg, and with such conductors as Gergiev, Maazel, Mehta, Masur, Temirkanov, Slatkin, and Jansons.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

♪ Piano Concerto No.3 in C major, Op.26 (1921)

i. Andante – Allegro
ii. Tema con variazioni
iii. Allegro, ma non troppo

Denis Matsuev, piano

Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra
Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Valery Gergiev

Easter Festival, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, April 22, 2012 (22 Απριλίου 2012)

Σκηνοθεσία (Director): Pierre-Martin Juban

(HD 1080p)

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.1 in D major – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Yuja Wang, Claudio Abbado

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concertos No.2 & No.3, Vocalise – Denis Matsuev, Leonard Slatkin

Sergei Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Symphony No.2 in E minor – Denis Matsuev, Leonard Slatkin (Full HD 1080p)

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Münchner Philharmoniker, Valery Gergiev

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.