Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Sunday, February 28, 2016

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Πριν επιστρέψει στη Σοβιετική Ένωση το 1936, ο Προκόφιεφ αποδέχτηκε την παραγγελία του Γάλλου βιολονίστα Robert Soetens να συνθέσει ένα κοντσέρτο για βιολί. Το αποτέλεσμα ήταν το έργο 63, που, όπως ισχυριζόταν ο συνθέτης, αντικατοπτρίζει τον νομαδικό τρόπο με τον οποίο ζούσε εκείνη την εποχή. Το βασικό θέμα του πρώτου μέρους γράφτηκε στο Παρίσι, του δεύτερου μέρους στο Βορόνεζ της Ρωσίας, ενώ η ενορχήστρωση ολοκληρώθηκε στο Μπακού του Αζερμπαϊτζάν. Η πρώτη παρουσίαση του έργου έγινε την 1η Δεκεμβρίου 1935 στο Teatro Monumental στη Μαδρίτη, από τη Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα της πόλης, υπό τη διεύθυνση του Enrique Fernández Arbós, με σολίστ τον Robert Soetens.

Το Κοντσέρτο για βιολί και ορχήστρα αρ. 2 σε Σολ ελάσσονα, έργο 63 του Σεργκέι Προκόφιεφ, ερμηνεύει ο διεθνούς φήμης Έλληνας βιολονίστας Λεωνίδας Καβάκος. Την Ορχήστρα του Θεάτρου Μαρίινσκι διευθύνει ο σπουδαίος Ρώσος αρχιμουσικός Βαλέρι Γκεργκίεφ.

Composed in 1935, when Sergei Prokofiev was touring all over the world, the Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op.63, is assuredly one of the most popular concertos among violinists. The first movement, Allegro moderato, starts with a simple melody which reminds us of the Russian folk music. The melodic lines are fluid, the violin and the orchestra evolve together rather than against one another. The second movement, Andante assai, is graceful and lighthearted with the pizzicati accompaniment of the soloist by the orchestra. The third movement, in which castanets are added to the orchestra, draws freely its inspiration from Spanish music.

It premiered on 1 December 1935 at the Teatro Monumental in Madrid, with the French violinist Robert Soetens and the Madrid Symphony Orchestra conducted by Enrique Fernández Arbós. Prokofiev wrote it after the first performance of his Sonata for Two Violins, by Soetens and Samuel Dushkin, which pleased him greatly. Dushkin had just recently had a concerto written for him, by Igor Stravinsky, so Prokofiev did the same for Soetens. Prokofiev was on a concert tour with Robert Soetens while he was working on the concerto, and later wrote, "The number of places in which I wrote the Concerto shows the kind of nomadic concert-tour life I led then. The main theme of the 1st movement was written in Paris, the first theme of the 2nd movement at Voronezh, the orchestration was finished in Baku and the premiere was given in Madrid".

Leonidas Kavakos, one of the most sought-after violinists on the international scene, is the soloist invited here to perform Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op. 63. He is accompanied by the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra under Valery Gergiev's baton.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

♪ Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op.63 (1935)

i. Allegro moderato
ii. Andante assai
iii. Allegro, ben marcato

Leonidas Kavakos, violin

Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra
Conductor: Valery Gergiev

Easter Festival, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, April 22, 2012 (22 Απριλίου 2012)

Σκηνοθεσία (Director): Pierre-Martin Juban

(HD 1080p)

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Jakub Hrůša

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.1 in D major – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Ottorino Respighi: Violin Sonata in B minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Yuja Wang

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Münchner Philharmoniker, Valery Gergiev

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.