Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Sunday, March 27, 2016

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Münchner Philharmoniker, Valery Gergiev

Υπό τη διεύθυνση του διάσημου Ρώσου αρχιμουσικού Βαλέρι Γκεργκίεφ, η Φιλαρμονική του Μονάχου και η Φιλαρμονική Χορωδία του Μονάχου ερμηνεύουν τη μνημειωδών διαστάσεων Συμφωνία αρ. 2 σε Ντο ελάσσονα – την επονομαζόμενη «Συμφωνία της Ανάστασης» – του Γκούσταβ Μάλερ. Συμπράττουν η Γερμανίδα υψίφωνος Anne Schwanewilms και η Ρωσίδα μεσόφωνος Olga Borodina. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στο Πολιτιστικό Κέντρο Γκάσταϊγκ του Μονάχου, στις 17 Σεπτεμβρίου 2015.

Από τις πιο δημοφιλείς Συμφωνίες του Γκούσταβ Μάλερ, η Δεύτερη αποτελεί τη φυσική αλλά και μεταφυσική συνέχεια της Πρώτης Συμφωνίας. Όπως σχολίαζε και ο Αυστριακός συνθέτης, ο νεκρός ήρωας της Πρώτης Συμφωνίας μεταφέρεται στον τάφο του υπό τους ήχους της πένθιμης μουσικής από τη Δεύτερη. Η λύτρωση και η ανάσταση έρχονται στο φωνητικό φινάλε.

Ο Μάλερ άρχισε να συνθέτει τη Δεύτερη Συμφωνία το 1888, αμέσως μετά την ολοκλήρωση της Πρώτης. Ωστόσο, ο διορισμός του ως διευθυντή ορχήστρας, πρώτα στη Βουδαπέστη και κατόπιν στο Αμβούργο, δεν του άφησε χρόνο να ασχοληθεί με το έργο. Μόλις το 1893 ολοκλήρωσε το δεύτερο και τρίτο μέρος της Συμφωνίας. Το 1894, ολοκλήρωσε το έργο, ουσιαστικά κατά την περίοδο των διακοπών του, διορθώνοντας στο τέλος το πρώτο μέρος ως προς την ενορχήστρωση. Η πρώτη παρουσίαση της Δεύτερης Συμφωνίας έγινε στο Βερολίνο, στις 13 Δεκεμβρίου 1895.

Gustav Mahler, not long after completing the Symphony No.2, said, "The term 'symphony' means creating a world with all the technical means available". The Resurrection Symphony is an all-embracing work, the first of the Austrian composer's symphonies to make use of voices and words as well as the orchestra, and the piece that set him decisively on the path toward the grandly scaled, high individualist and confessional style of symphony that was to become his legacy. It was also the composition that brought Mahler his first fame, and its premiere in Berlin on the night of December 13, 1895 (staged with the help of Richard Strauss), marked the real beginning of Mahler's career as a composer.

Symphony No.2 is the work with which Mahler answered the metaphysical challenge of Beethoven's Ninth. There are a lot of similarities along the way – the turbulent beginning, the vast exploration of musical territory in the middle of the work and the triumphant conclusion. In the final movement, all 38 and a half minutes of it, the ramparts are being climbed and the noise and confusion of battle surround you. Using off-stage instruments to explode the musical space was one of Mahler's favorite devices, and trumpets sound from different sides of the stage in this movement. He engulfs the listener in something beyond the reaches of the concert hall.

Source: Ted Libbey (

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

♪ Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" (1888-1894)

i. Allegro maestoso

ii. Andante moderato
iii. In ruhig fliessender Bewegung
iv. Urlicht
v. In Tempo des Scherzos

Anne Schwanewilms, soprano
Olga Borodina, mezzo-soprano

Philharmonischer Chor München
Münchner Philharmoniker

Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Valery Gergiev

Σκηνοθεσία βίντεο / Video Director: Michael Beyer

Gasteig, Munich, September 17, 2015 (Γκάσταϊγκ, Μόναχο, 17 Σεπτεμβρίου 2015)

Βίντεο υψηλής ευκρίνειας με υψηλή ποιότητα ήχου
High definition video with high quality audio

(HD 720p)

Olga Borodina

Anne Schwanewilms

Περισσότερες φωτογραφίες / More photos

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (HD 1080p)

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Miah Persson, Anna Larsson, Gustavo Dudamel (Full HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.1 in D major – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.