Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Flute Concerto No.1 in G major – Anders Jonhäll, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, David Afkham

Κατά την παραμονή του στο Μάνχαϊμ (Οκτώβριος 1777 - Μάρτιος 1778) ο Μότσαρτ αποδέχτηκε την πρόταση ενός φιλόμουσου Ολλανδού εισοδηματία, να συνθέσει γι' αυτόν «τρία μικρά, εύκολα και σύντομα κοντσέρτα καθώς και μερικά κουαρτέτα για το φλάουτο», έναντι αμοιβής διακοσίων gulden (χρυσό νόμισμα της εποχής). Παρότι ο Μότσαρτ δεν έτρεφε ιδιαίτερη συμπάθεια για το φλάουτο, κυρίως για τεχνικούς λόγους, άρχισε τη σύνθεση των κομματιών που συμφωνήθηκαν. Όταν όμως ο De Jean, όπως ήταν το όνομα του φιλόμουσου Ολλανδού, αναχώρησε για το Παρίσι τον Φεβρουάριο του 1778, ο Μότσαρτ είχε προλάβει να συνθέσει και παρέδωσε μόνο δύο κοντσέρτα και τρία κουαρτέτα. Γι' αυτό και πληρώθηκε μόνο ενενήντα έξι από τα διακόσια gulden: σε αυτό ίσως συνέβαλε το γεγονός ότι τα έργα δεν ήταν καθόλου εύκολα ούτε και μικρά για έναν ερασιτέχνη φλαουτίστα, όπως ο De Jean, ο οποίος έδειξε έτσι τη δυσαρέσκειά του.

Όταν οι ερευνητές αναζήτησαν αργότερα αυτά τα έργα του Μότσαρτ, των οποίων τις παρτιτούρες είχε πάρει μαζί του ο Ολλανδός και δεν βρίσκονταν στο αρχείο του συνθέτη, βρήκαν σταδιακά το «πρώτο κοντσέρτο για φλάουτο», Κ.313, τα τρία κουαρτέτα, K.285, K.285a, K.285b, και το «δεύτερο κοντσέρτο για φλάουτο», K.314. Βρήκαν, επίσης, ένα Andante, K.315, το οποίο πιθανόν να ήταν μία παραλλαγή του δεύτερου μέρους του «πρώτου κοντσέρτου» ή να επρόκειτο να αποτελέσει το δεύτερο μέρος του υπό δημιουργία τρίτου κοντσέρτου που δεν ολοκληρώθηκε ποτέ.

Το Κοντσέρτο για φλάουτο αρ. 1 σε Σολ μείζονα, K.313, του Βόλφγκανγκ Αμαντέους Μότσαρτ, ερμηνεύει ο διακεκριμένος Ολλανδός φλαουτίστας και δάσκαλος φλάουτου στην Ακαδημία Μουσικής και Θεάτρου του Γκέτεμποργκ, Anders Jonhäll (γενν. 1966). Τη Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα του Γκέτεμποργκ διευθύνει ο ανερχόμενος αστέρας του πόντιουμ, Γερμανός αρχιμουσικός Ντάβιντ Άφκχαμ. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής του Γκέτεμποργκ στις 19 Δεκεμβρίου 2015.

In a letter of 10 December 1777 Mozart reported to his father from Mannheim that Johann Baptist Wendling, principal flautist of the famous Mannheim Orchestra, had been approached by a wealthy Dutch businessman by the name of De Jean, who was prepared to pay 200 gulden for three easy flute concertos and four flute quartets for his own use. Mozart accepted the commission with the understanding that the works were to be ready before De Jean left for Paris in mid-February 1778. By the day before the Dutchman left, Mozart had delivered only three of the quartets and two concertos, for which he had been paid only 96 gulden. The composer, who was himself being pressed by his father to continue his own journey to Paris with his mother, was full of excuses, writing back to Salzburg on 14 February, "It is not surprising I have been unable to finish them, for I never have a single hour's quiet here... Moreover, you know I become quite powerless when I am obliged to write for an instrument I can't stand".

There is more than a hint of disingenuousness in Mozart's words, for this was the height of the period during which he was being distracted from his work by his new-found love for the Mannheim singer Aloysia Weber. (He ultimately married her sister, Constanze.) Of the two flute concertos Mozart handed over to De Jean, the second, in D major, was not even a new work, but an arrangement of an oboe concerto he had composed in Salzburg in the previous year. If Mozart's dislike of the flute was as great as he claimed, there are few signs in the Flute Concerto No. 1 in G major, particularly in the expressive central Adagio ma non troppo. The outer movements are an Allegro maestoso and a concluding Rondo: Tempo di Menuetto. The work is scored for two oboes (replaced by flutes in the Adagio), two horns, and strings.

Source: Joseph Stevenson (

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

♪ Flute Concerto No.1 in G major, K.313 (1778)

i. Allegro maestoso
ii. Adagio ma non troppo
iii. Rondeau. Tempo di Menuetto

Anders Jonhäll, flute

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): David Afkham

Gothenburg Concert Hall, December 19, 2015 (19 Δεκεμβρίου 2015)

(HD 720p)

More photos / Περισσότερες φωτογραφίες

See also / Δείτε επίσης

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra – All the posts

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.