Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Friday, May 06, 2016

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.2 in D major – Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, David Afkham

Johannes Brahms composed his Symphony No.2 in the summer of 1877, less than a year after the premiere of his Symphony No.1 (Op.68) – an astonishing fact given that the former had taken him fifteen years to complete. Finally confident in his abilities as a symphonist, and less troubled by the looming shadow of Beethoven, Brahms created a much more spontaneous work that was well received by both critics and audiences. When compared with the works of his contemporaries, this piece is conservative in both orchestration and formal structure. But it is by no means reactionary. Rather, Brahms revised and expanded upon the eighteenth century model, largely replacing thematic contrast with transformation and variation, and adding his distinctive richness of harmony and rhythm.

The premiere was given in Vienna on December 30, 1877 by the Vienna Philharmonic under the direction of Hans Richter. Walter Frisch notes that it had originally been scheduled for December 9, but "in one of those little ironies of music history, it had to be postponed [because] the players were so preoccupied with learning Das Rheingold by Richard Wagner.

Σε αντίθεση με την Πρώτη Συμφωνία του (έργο 68), η περάτωση της οποίας απαίτησε δεκαπέντε ολόκληρα χρόνια (από το 1862 έως το 1876), ο Γιοχάνες Μπραμς άρχισε να γράφει τη Δεύτερη Συμφωνία του, έργο 73, κατά τις θερινές του διακοπές στις Άλπεις το 1877 και την ολοκλήρωσε μόλις το φθινόπωρο του ίδιου έτους. Χαριτολογώντας, μάλιστα, στις 22 Νοεμβρίου περιέγραφε σε επιστολή του προς τον εκδότη και φίλο του, Fritz Simrock, το νέο του αυτό έργο ως ιδιαίτερα μελαγχολικό, αν και στην πραγματικότητα η συγκεκριμένη Συμφωνία απομακρύνεται εντελώς από την τραγικότητα της αμέσως προηγούμενης, καθώς διαπνέεται ως επί το πλείστον από εύθυμη, ήπια και ποιμενική διάθεση – δεν είναι άλλωστε λίγοι εκείνοι που την παραλληλίζουν με την «Ποιμενική» Έκτη Συμφωνία του Λούντβιχ βαν Μπετόβεν. Η πρώτη εκτέλεση της Δεύτερης Συμφωνίας του Μπραμς πραγματοποιήθηκε με επιτυχία στις 30 Δεκεμβρίου 1877 στη Βιένη, από την περίφημη Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα της πόλης, υπό τη διεύθυνση του Hans Richter, ενώ και η παρτιτούρα του έργου εκδόθηκε δίχως σημαντική χρονική καθυστέρηση, το 1878. — Ιωάννης Φούλιας, 2008

Τη Συμφωνία αρ. 2 σε Ρε μείζονα, έργο 73, του Γιοχάνες Μπραμς, ερμηνεύει η Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα του Γκέτεμποργκ υπό τη διεύθυνση του ανερχόμενου αστέρα του πόντιουμ, Γερμανού αρχιμουσικού Ντάβιντ Άφκχαμ. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής του Γκέτεμποργκ στις 12 Σεπτεμβρίου 2013.

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

♪ Symphony No.2 in D major, Op.73 (1877)

i. Allegro non troppo

ii. Adagio non troppo
iii. Allegretto grazioso
iv. Allegro con spirito

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: David Afkham

Gothenburg Concert Hall, September 12, 2013

(HD 720p)

David Afkham is Principal Conductor of the Spanish National Orchestra and Chorus. He is in high demand as a guest conductor with some of the world's finest orchestras and opera houses, and has established a reputation as one of the most sought after conductors to emerge from Germany in recent years.

Highlights over the next two seasons include return projects with the Munich Philharmonic, Staatskapelle Berlin, Swedish Radio Symphony, Wiener Symphoniker (Musikverein series), Rotterdam Philharmonic, Santa Cecilia Orchestra, Orchestre National de France, Gothenburg Symphony, Frankfurt Radio Symphony, SWR Symphony and a tour with the Gustav Mahler Jungendorchester. David is also looking forward to debuts with the Chicago Symphony, Bamberger Symphoniker, Danish National Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic and Israel Philharmonic. Recent projects also include debuts with the Concertgebouw Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony, DSO-Berlin, Filarmonica della Scala, Philharmonia Orchestra London, as well as the Cleveland Orchestra, Seattle Symphony and a New York debut at the Mostly Mozart Festival. In Summer 2014, David Afkham conducted a highly successful opera debut with Verdi's "La Traviata" at Glyndebourne Festival Opera, and later revived the production with Glyndebourne on Tour. Future opera plans include Teatro Real Madrid ("Bomarzo" by Alberto Ginastera) and Frankfurt Opera ("Hänsel und Gretel" by Engelbert Humperdinck).

Born 1983 in Freiburg, Germany, David Afkham received his first piano and violin lessons at the age of six.  At 15, he entered his native city's University of Music to pursue studies in piano, music theory and conducting.  He won first prize in the solo-piano category of the 2002 Jugend Musiziert National Piano Competition. He then completed his conducting studies at the Liszt School of Music in Weimar. David Afkham was the first recipient of the "Bernard Haitink Fund for Young Talent", was a conducting fellow of the "Richard Wagner Association" Bayreuth and a member of the "Conductor's Forum" of the German Music Council. He assisted his mentor Bernard Haitink on a number of major projects including symphony cycles with the Chicago Symphony, Concertgebouw Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra. He was the winner of the 2008 Donatella Flick Conducting Competition in London, resulting in him becoming the Assistant Conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra for two years. In August 2010, he became the first recipient of the "Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award". David Afkham was Assistant Conductor of the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester for three years.


Ο Ντέιβιντ Άφχκαμ είναι βασικός μαέστρος της Εθνικής Ορχήστρας και Χορωδίας της Ισπανίας και ένας από τους πλέον καταξιωμένους Γερμανούς αρχιμουσικούς της νέας γενιάς, με συχνές μετακλήσεις και συνεργασίες με τις καλύτερες ορχήστρες και τα μεγαλύτερα λυρικά θέατρα και φεστιβάλ της Ευρώπης και της Αμερικής.

Γεννήθηκε το 1983 στην πόλη Φράιμπουργκ της Γερμανίας και άρχισε πιάνο και βιολί στα έξι του. Σε ηλικία μόλις 15 ετών έγινε δεκτός στο Πανεπιστήμιο Μουσικής της γενέτειράς του, όπου μελέτησε πιάνο, θεωρητικά και διεύθυνση ορχήστρας. Ολοκλήρωσε τις σπουδές του στην τελευταία ειδικότητα στη Σχολή Μουσικής «Λιστ» της Βαϊμάρης. Το 2002, κέρδισε το πρώτο βραβείο στον διαγωνισμό "Jugend Musiziert" (σόλο πιάνο), ενώ υπήρξε ο πρώτος αποδέκτης της υποτροφίας του Ιδρύματος «Μπέρναρντ Χάιτινκ» για Νέα Ταλέντα. Στη συνέχεια, εργάστηκε ως βοηθός του φημισμένου μαέστρου και μέντορά του, Μπέρναρντ Χάιτινκ, σε σημαντικούς κύκλους συμφωνικής μουσικής (Κονσερτγκεμπάου του Άμστερνταμ, Συμφωνικές του Σικάγου και του Λονδίνου). Το 2008, βραβεύτηκε στον διαγωνισμό διεύθυνσης ορχήστρας «Ντονατέλα Φλικ», γεγονός που του εξασφάλισε διετές συμβόλαιο με τη Συμφωνική του Λονδίνου. Δύο χρόνια αργότερα ήταν ο πρώτος που κέρδισε το βραβείο νεαρών μαέστρων του Nestle and Salzburg Festival. Διετέλεσε επί τρία χρόνια βοηθός αρχιμουσικός της Ορχήστρας Νέων Γκούσταβ Μάλερ.

An interview with conductor David Afkham about his concert with Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra in September 2013. Interview made by Måns Pär Fogelberg.

Συνέντευξη του Ντάβιντ Άφκχαμ στον Måns Pär Fogelberg, για τη συναυλία του με τη Συμφωνική Ορχήστρα του Γκέτεμποργκ τον Σεπτέμβριο του 2013.

(HD 720p)

More photos

See also

Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra – All the posts

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.2 in D major – Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.