Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Friday, July 15, 2016

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy-Overture – Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Ο Τσαϊκόφσκι συνέθεσε το συμφωνικό έργο «Ρωμαίος και Ιουλιέτα» στο ξεκίνημα της λαμπρής καριέρας του. Η πρώτη έκδοση του έργου παρουσιάστηκε υπό τη διεύθυνση του Νικολάι Ρουμπινστάιν στις 4 Μαρτίου 1870 στη Μόσχα, η δεύτερη στην Αγία Πετρούπολη, υπό τη διεύθυνση του Έντουαρντ Ναπράβνικ, δύο χρόνια αργότερα, και, τέλος, το 1886 στην Τιφλίδα παρουσιάστηκε το ολοκληρωμένο έργο υπό την μπαγκέτα του Ιπολιτόφ-Ιβανόφ.

Ο Μπαλακίρεφ, μουσικός της Ομάδας των Πέντε, ενθάρρυνε τον Τσαϊκόφσκι να συνθέσει το σαιξπηρικό ειδύλλιο, λέγοντάς του για να τον πείσει, πως και εκείνος έγραψε μουσική για τον Βασιλιά Ληρ. Αλλά η μεγαλοφυΐα του Τσαϊκόφσκι αποδείχτηκε μεγαλύτερη και οικουμενικότερη από αυτήν του Μπαλακίρεφ και τα θέματα αυτής της Εισαγωγής-Φαντασίας βρίσκονται ανάμεσα στα καλύτερα που έχουν γραφτεί από την πένα του συνθέτη.

Μια χορωδία ξεδιπλώνεται στα πρώτα μέτρα ανάμεσα στο δυτικό και στο ορθόδοξο ρωσικό στυλ: είναι το θέμα του Αδερφού Λαυρέντιου, που το ακολουθούν οι σύντομες φράσεις μίσους των Καπουλέτων και των Μοντέγων. Τότε εμφανίζονται οι εύθραυστοι και λεπτοί ήχοι των βιολιών, που εκφράζουν την αγάπη ανάμεσα στον Ρωμαίο και την Ιουλιέτα, προτού φτάσει το τραγικό τέλος των δύο ερωτευμένων. Σε είκοσι λεπτά όλα έχουν ειπωθεί και βιωθεί με τη βοήθεια εξαιρετικών μέσων, λαμβάνοντας υπόψη τη μικρή πείρα του συνθέτη. Βεβαίως, στα επόμενα 25 χρόνια θα ακολουθήσουν πολλά σημαντικά έργα από τον ίδιο.

Το έργο «Ρωμαίος και Ιουλιέτα, Εισαγωγή-Φαντασία» του μεγάλου Ρώσου συνθέτη Πιότρ Ιλίτς Τσαϊκόφσκι, ερμηνεύει η Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα του Ρότερνταμ υπό τη διεύθυνση του ταχύτατα ανερχόμενου Γαλλοκαναδού αρχιμουσικού Γιανίκ Νεζέτ Σεγκέν, ο οποίος, όπως ανακοινώθηκε πρόσφατα, πρόκειται να είναι ο επόμενος μουσικός διευθυντής της Μετροπόλιταν Όπερα της Νέας Υόρκης. Η συναυλία δόθηκε στο Ρόιαλ Άλμπερτ Χολ του Λονδίνου στις 22 Αυγούστου 2013.

"Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy-Overture" by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, continues to be much loved as a concert piece. Further, its central love theme is frequently quoted today in romantic scenes for film and television. The work was premiered in Moscow on March 4 (March 16, New Style), 1870, and twice revised, reaching its final form in 1880 (third version first performed 1886).

The idea for a piece using the story of William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet was suggested by Tchaikovsky's older, more-experienced colleague, the composer Mily Balakirev, who proposed the subject matter, possible themes, and a general outline for the work. Balakirev was somewhat critical of the results – as Tchaikovsky had in places followed his own instincts rather than Balakirev's suggestions – yet he expressed cautious approval of the piece as a whole.

Rather than portraying the play's events in the order in which they occur, Tchaikovsky presents a variety of characters and moods whose melodies offer effective musical contrast. The work opens with a serene clarinet-and-bassoon melody that represents the lovers' ally, the sombre and reflective Friar Laurence. The music then shifts to suggest violence, with a chaotic theme for the feuding Montague and Capulet families. Soon Tchaikovsky introduces a new melody: the soaring love theme of Romeo and Juliet themselves. As the piece progresses, love and violence share the stage with a sense of growing urgency until the love theme is reprised in a minor key, suggesting their tragic deaths. The work concludes with a hint of Friar Laurences melancholy theme (in the play he arrives on the scene too late to prevent the two suicides).

Betsy Schwarm, 2016 (

[At present, this video is unavailable]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

♪ Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy-Overture (1880)

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra
Μουσική διεύθυνση (Conductor): Yannick Nézet-Séguin

London, Royal Albert Hall, Proms, August 22, 2013 (22 Αυγούστου 2013)

(HD 720p)

See also

Richard Wagner: Wesendonck Lieder – Anna Caterina Antonacci, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No.5 in B flat major – Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Yannick Nézet-Séguin is the next music director of the Metropolitan Opera

Jan Lisiecki at Carnegie Hall with Philadelphia Orchestra under Yannick Nézet-Séguin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.