Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Friday, August 26, 2016

Yu-Chien Tseng plays Jean Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, & Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major – Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, Yuri Simonov – XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015, Violin / Final Round

The International Tchaikovsky Competition, first held more than 50 years ago, is not only a valuable asset of Russian musical culture but is also one of the major events in the international music community. The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years

The first, in 1958, included two disciplines – piano and violin. Beginning with the second competition, in 1962, a cello category was added, and the vocal division was introduced during the third competition in 1966. In 1990, a fifth discipline was announced for the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition – a contest for violin makers which was held before the main competition.

The XV International Tchaikovsky Competition was held in Moscow and St Petersburg from June 15 to July 3, 2015, and was dedicated to the 175th anniversary of the great Russian composer.

In the competition participated more than 600 artists from 45 countries.

On the jury for violin was the distinguished violinists Salvatore Accardo, Yuri Bashmet, James Ehnes, Maxim Fedotov, Michael Haefliger, Liana Isakadze, Ilya Kaler, Leonidas Kavakos, Boris Kuschnir, Mihaela Martin, Vadim Repin, Viktor Tretiakov, Vera Tsu Wei Ling, Maxim Vengerov and Nikolaj Znaider.

The Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47, was written by Jean Sibelius in 1904, revised in 1905. It is his only concerto. It is symphonic in scope, with the solo violin and all sections of the orchestra being equal voices. An extended cadenza for the soloist takes on the role of the development section in the first movement.

Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D major is one of the best-loved violin concerti in the history of music. Its main theme, both epic and romantic, is obviously responsible for this popularity. Nevertheless, it is the only violin concerto ever written by Tchaikovsky. It was premiered in Vienna in 1881, with the violinist Adolf Brodsky and the conductor Hans Richter.

The violinists competing at the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition must perform, during the final round of the Competition, Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D major.

Ο 15ος Διεθνής Διαγωνισμός Τσαϊκόφσκι, ο οποίος ήταν αφιερωμένος στην 175η επέτειο από τη γέννηση του μεγάλου Ρώσου συνθέτη, πραγματοποιήθηκε στη Μόσχα και στην Αγία Πετρούπολη από τις 15 Ιουνίου έως τις 3 Ιουλίου 2015.

Στο πλαίσιο του τελικού του διαγωνισμού στην κατηγορία του βιολιού, ο Ταϊβανός βιολονίστας Yu-Chien Tseng, ο οποίος έλαβε τη δεύτερη θέση*, ερμήνευσε δύο από τα σπουδαιότερα κοντσέρτα που έχουν γραφτεί για βιολί: το Κοντσέρτο σε Ρε ελάσσονα, έργο 47, του Γιαν Σιμπέλιους, και το Κοντσέρτο σε Ρε μείζονα, έργο 35, του Πιότρ Ιλίτς Τσαϊκόφσκι. Τη Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα της Μόσχας διηύθυνε ο διεθνούς φήμης Ρώσος αρχιμουσικός Γιούρι Σιμόνοφ.

Η συναυλία έλαβε χώρα στο Μέγαρο Μουσικής «Τσαϊκόφσκι», στις 29 Ιουνίου 2015.

Ο Διεθνής Διαγωνισμός Τσαϊκόφσκι, ο οποίος πραγματοποιείται κάθε τέσσερα χρόνια, είναι ίσως ο σημαντικότερος διαγωνισμός στο χώρο της κλασικής μουσικής. Ο διαγωνισμός διοργανώθηκε για πρώτη φορά το 1958, περιλαμβάνοντας μόνο δύο κατηγορίες: του βιολιού και του πιάνου. Το 1962, στη δεύτερη διοργάνωση, προστέθηκε η κατηγορία του βιολοντσέλου, ενώ στην τρίτη διοργάνωση του διαγωνισμού, το 1966, προστέθηκε ακόμη η κατηγορία της φωνής.

Στον 15ο Διαγωνισμό, το 2015, συμμετείχαν περισσότεροι από εξακόσιοι καλλιτέχνες από 45 χώρες, οι οποίοι διαγωνίστηκαν και στις τέσσερεις κατηγορίες: πιάνο, βιολί, βιολοντσέλο και φωνή.

Την κριτική επιτροπή για την κατηγορία του βιολιού αποτελούσαν οι διακεκριμένοι βιολονίστες Salvatore Accardo, Yuri Bashmet, James Ehnes, Maxim Fedotov, Michael Haefliger, Liana Isakadze, Ilya Kaler, Leonidas Kavakos, Boris Kuschnir, Mihaela Martin, Vadim Repin, Viktor Tretiakov, Vera Tsu Wei Ling, Maxim Vengerov και Nikolaj Znaider.

* Στον 15ο Διεθνή Διαγωνισμό Τσαϊκόφσκι, το 2015, στην κατηγορία του βιολιού, δεν απονεμήθηκε πρώτο βραβείο.

Το Κοντσέρτο σε Ρε ελάσσονα, έργο 47 του Γιαν Σιμπέλιους θεωρείται ως ένα από τα πιο σπουδαία και απαιτητικά κοντσέρτα για βιολί, καθώς και ένα από τα κορυφαία έργα του μεγάλου Φινλανδού συνθέτη. Παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά το 1905 με μαέστρο τον Ρίχαρντ Στράους.

Το Κοντσέρτο για βιολί σε Ρε μείζονα, έργο 35, του Πιότρ Ιλίτς Τσαϊκόφσκι, είναι ένα από τα πιο αγαπημένα κοντσέρτα για βιολί στην ιστορία της μουσικής. Πρόκειται για το μοναδικό Κοντσέρτο για βιολί που έγραψε ποτέ ο Τσαϊκόφσκι. Το έργο παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά το 1881 στη Βιένη, από τον βιολονίστα Adolf Brodsky και τον μαέστρο Hans Richter.

Το Κοντσέρτο για βιολί του Τσαϊκόφσκι, ήταν ένα έργο το οποίο έπρεπε να ερμηνεύσουν όλοι οι βιολονίστες που διαγωνίστηκαν στον τελικό του 15ου Διεθνούς Διαγωνισμού Τσαϊκόφσκι.

[At present, this video is unavailable]

XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015, Violin / Final Round

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)

♪ Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47 (1904)  [00:00]*

i. Allegro moderato
ii. Adagio di molto
iii. Allegro, ma non tanto

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

♪ Violin Concerto in D major, Op.35 (1878) [41:05]

i. Allegro moderato
ii. Canzonetta. Andante
iii. Finale. Allegro vivacissimo

Yu-Chien Tseng, violin – Second Prize **

Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Yuri Simonov

Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, June 29, 2015

(HD 720p)

* Start time of each work

** In the 15th International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2015, in the category of the violin, not awarded first prize.

Yu-Chien Tseng was born in New Taipei, Taiwan, on August 24, 1994. Studied music in Taiwan and continued at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia (USA) under professors Kavafian and Aaron Rosand. In 2009 he won the 10th Pablo Sarasate International Competition in Pamplona (Spain). In 2011 he won the Isang Yun Competition in Tongyeong (South Korea) and also was awarded a special prize at the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition (as best of those in Round II who did not make the finals). In 2012 he took fifth place in the Queen Elisabeth International Competition in Brussels. He has performed with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the National Orchestra of Belgium, and the symphony orchestras of Singapore, Taipei, and Navarra among others. He has given solo concerts in cities in the USA, Europe and Asia. His début disc featuring music by French composers was released by Naxos.

More photos

See also

Yu-Chien Tseng – All the posts

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.