Sofia Gubaidulina, composer

Sofia Gubaidulina, composer
Sofia Gubaidulina

Thursday, February 09, 2017

Daniel Kharitonov plays Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt & Sergei Rachmaninov – XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015, Piano / Round 2, First stage

The International Tchaikovsky Competition, first held more than 50 years ago, is not only a valuable asset of Russian musical culture but is also one of the major events in the international music community. The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years.

The first, in 1958, included two disciplines – piano and violin. Beginning with the second competition, in 1962, a cello category was added, and the vocal division was introduced during the third competition in 1966. In 1990, a fifth discipline was announced for the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition – a contest for violin makers which was held before the main competition.

The XV International Tchaikovsky Competition was held in Moscow and St Petersburg from June 15 to July 3, 2015, and was dedicated to the 175th anniversary of the great Russian composer.

In the competition participated more than 600 artists from 45 countries.

On the jury for piano was the distinguished pianists Dmitri Bashkirov, Boris Berezovsky, Michel Béroff, Peter Donohoe, Sergei Dorensky, Barry Douglas, Denis Matsuev, Vladimir Ovchinnikov, Alexander Toradze, Vladimir Feltsman, Klaus Hellwig, and the founder and director of the Verbier International Festival and Academy, Martin Engström.

Ο 15ος Διεθνής Διαγωνισμός Τσαϊκόφσκι, ο οποίος ήταν αφιερωμένος στην 175η επέτειο από τη γέννηση του μεγάλου Ρώσου συνθέτη, πραγματοποιήθηκε στη Μόσχα και στην Αγία Πετρούπολη από τις 15 Ιουνίου έως τις 3 Ιουλίου 2015.

Στο πλαίσιο του δεύτερου γύρου – στο πρώτο από τα δύο στάδια – του διαγωνισμού στην κατηγορία του πιάνου, ο Ρώσος πιανίστας Daniel Kharitonov (γενν. 1998), ο οποίος μοιράστηκε την τρίτη θέση με τον επίσης Ρώσο Sergei Redkin, ερμήνευσε το πέμπτο μέρος (Chaconne) από την Παρτίτα για βιολί αρ. 2 σε Ρε ελάσσονα, BWV 1004, του Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ, σε μεταγραφή για πιάνο από τον Φερούτσιο Μπουσόνι, το «Σονέτο 123 του Πετράρχη», από το δεύτερο βιβλίο («Βενετία-Νάπολη») του συμφωνικού ποιήματος «Χρόνια Προσκυνήματος», S.161/6, καθώς και την Ουγγρική Ραψωδία αρ. 12 σε Ντο δίεση ελάσσονα, S.244/12, του Φραντς Λιστ, και τέλος, το Πρελούδιο σε Σολ ύφεση μείζονα, έργο 23 αρ. 10, και τη Σονάτα για πιάνο αρ. 2 σε Σι ύφεση ελάσσονα, έργο 36 (στη δεύτερη εκδοχή του 1931) του Σεργκέι Ραχμάνινοφ.

Το ρεσιτάλ έλαβε χώρα στη Μεγάλη Αίθουσα του Ωδείου της Μόσχας, στις 22 Ιουνίου 2015.

Ο Διεθνής Διαγωνισμός Τσαϊκόφσκι, ο οποίος πραγματοποιείται κάθε τέσσερα χρόνια, είναι ίσως ο σημαντικότερος διαγωνισμός στο χώρο της κλασικής μουσικής. Ο διαγωνισμός διοργανώθηκε για πρώτη φορά το 1958, περιλαμβάνοντας μόνο δύο κατηγορίες: του βιολιού και του πιάνου. Το 1962, στη δεύτερη διοργάνωση, προστέθηκε η κατηγορία του βιολοντσέλου, ενώ στην τρίτη διοργάνωση του διαγωνισμού, το 1966, προστέθηκε ακόμη η κατηγορία της φωνής.

Στον 15ο Διαγωνισμό, το 2015, συμμετείχαν περισσότεροι από εξακόσιοι καλλιτέχνες από 45 χώρες, οι οποίοι διαγωνίστηκαν και στις τέσσερεις κατηγορίες: πιάνο, βιολί, βιολοντσέλο και φωνή.

Την κριτική επιτροπή για την κατηγορία του πιάνου αποτελούσαν οι διακεκριμένοι πιανίστες Dmitri Bashkirov, Boris Berezovsky, Michel Béroff, Peter Donohoe, Sergei Dorensky, Barry Douglas, Denis Matsuev, Vladimir Ovchinnikov, Alexander Toradze, Vladimir Feltsman, Klaus Hellwig, καθώς επίσης και ο Martin Engström, ιδρυτής και διευθυντής του Διεθνούς Φεστιβάλ και της Ακαδημίας του Βερμπιέρ.

[At present, this video is unavailable]

XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015, Piano / Round 2, First stage

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) / Ferruccio Busoni (1866-1924)

♪ Violin Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004 (1720) [00:00]*

v. Chaconne

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

♪ Années de pèlerinage II, S.161 (1846-1849)

vi. Sonetto 123 del Petrarca [15:30]

♪ Hungarian Rhapsody No.12 in C sharp minor, S.244/12 (1847) [22:07]

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)

♪ Prelude in G flat major, Op.23 No.10 (1903) [32:11]

♪ Piano Sonata No.2 in B flat minor, Op.36 (2nd version, 1931) [35:49]

i. Allegro agitato
ii. Non allegro
iii. Allegro molto

Daniel Kharitonov, piano – Third Prize**

Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, June 22, 2015


* Start time of each work
** Third place was shared by Daniel Kharitonov and Sergei Redkin

Born in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk in the Russian Far East on December 22, 1998, Daniel Kharitonov emerged as one of the brightest talents of the 15th Tchaikovsky International Competition in 2015 at the age of 16, when his triumphant performance brought him the Third Prize.

Since his successful debut with The Mariinsky Orchestra under Valery Gergiev in 2013, Kharitonov became a regular with the orchestra and has already toured with them to China and Italy, and performed across Russia on the Moscow Easter Festival tours in 2014 and 2015. Other highlights in his native Russia include concerts with the State Academic Symphony Orchestra "Evgeny Svetlanov" and National Philharmonic of Russia, and recitals in halls such as the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory and Moscow International Performing Arts Center. He has participated at festivals such as Stars of the White Nights, Stars on Baikal and Crescendo, and regularly works with the Spivakov International Charity Foundation in Moscow.

Elsewhere, Kharitonov gave an electrifying performance at Carnegie Hall in 2013 as part of the Musical Olympus International Festival's gala concert and has also appeared at the Annecy Classic and International de Colmar festivals in France.

In early 2016 Kharitonov debuted with the China Philharmonic Orchestra, Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra and Orquestra Sinfônica Municipal de São Paulo to great critical acclaim and returned to Japan with the Moscow State Symphony Orchestra under Pavel Kogan. Later this season Kharitonov will appear in recital at the Duszniki International Chopin Piano Festival, Schubertíada a Vilabertran and as part of the Scherzo Jóvenes Intérpretes series. Upcoming concert performances include his much anticipated debut with the London Chamber Orchestra under Vladimir Ashkenazy and a tour of China with the National Philharmonic of Russia under Vladimir Spivakov.


More photos

See also

Daniel Kharitonov – All the posts

No comments:

Post a Comment