Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Sunday, July 09, 2017

The winners of the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015

The International Tchaikovsky Competition, first held more than 50 years ago, is not only a valuable asset of Russian musical culture but is also one of the major events in the international music community. The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years

The first, in 1958, included two disciplines – piano and violin. Beginning with the second competition, in 1962, a cello category was added, and the vocal division was introduced during the third competition in 1966. In 1990, a fifth discipline was announced for the IX International Tchaikovsky Competition – a contest for violin makers which was held before the main competition.

The XV International Tchaikovsky Competition was held in Moscow and St Petersburg from June 15 to July 3, 2015, and was dedicated to the 175th anniversary of the great Russian composer.

In the competition participated more than 600 artists from 45 countries.

There is no doubt that winning a prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition helps a career in an incomparable way. Most of the Competition's past prizewinners have gone on to become worldwide stars.

The winners of the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition, 2015

Piano Awards

First Prize: Dmitry Masleev (Russia)
Second Prize: Lukas Geniušas (Lithuania-Russia), George Li (United States)
Third Prize: Daniel Kharitonov (Russia), Sergei Redkin (Russia)
Fourth Prize: Lucas Debargue (France)

Violin Awards

First Prize: (No winner)
Second Prize: Yu-Chien Tseng (Taiwan)
Third Prize: Haik Kazazyan (Russia), Alexandra Conunova (Moldova), Pavel Milyukov (Russia)
Fourth Prize: Clara-Jumi Kang (Germany)
Fifth Prize: Bomsori Kim (South Korea)

Cello Awards

First Prize: Andrei Ionuț Ioniță (Romania)
Second Prize: Alexander Ramm (Russia)
Third Prize: Alexander Buzlov (Russia)
Fourth Prize: Pablo Ferrández (Spain)
Fifth Prize: Seung Min Kang (South Korea)
Sixth Prize: Jonathan Roozeman (Netherlands)

Voice Awards

First Prize: Yulia Matochkina (Russia)
Second Prize: Svetlana Moskalenko (Russia)
Third Prize: Mane Galoyan (Armenia)
Fourth Prize: Antonina Vesenina (Russia)

First Prize: Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar (Mongolia)
Second Prize: Chuanyue Wang (China)
Third Prize: Hansung Yoo (South Korea)
Fourth Prize: Dmitry Grigoriev (Russia)

See also

Dmitry Masleev, piano – First Prize

Dmitry Masleev – All the posts

George Li, piano – Second Prize

George Li – All the posts

Lukas Geniušas, piano – Second Prize

Lukas Geniušas – All the posts

Sergei Redkin, piano / third prize

Sergei Redkin – All the posts

Daniel Kharitonov, piano / third prize

Daniel Kharitonov – All the posts

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.