Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki
Krzysztof Penderecki (1933-2020) conducting his oratorio "Seven Gates of Jerusalem" at the Winter Palace, St Petersburg, in 2001. Photo by Dmitry Lovetsky

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Live Concert from the Church St Nicolai, Leipzig – Johann Sebastian Bach, Felix Mendelssohn, Ludwig van Beethoven – Nancy Argenta, Viktoria Mullova, Jürgen Wolf, Gewandhausorchester, Gewandhaus Choir, Thomanerchor Leipzig, Herbert Blomstedt, Georg Christoph Biller (HD 1080p)

At the benefit concert Refuge for the Rising performed on October 9, 1999 in Leipzig's Nikolai Church, the Gewandhaus Orchestra and the Thomaner Chorus played in and for the benefit of the church that marks a decisive historical point in recent German history. The performance commemorated the tenth anniversary of the "peace prayers" and the "peaceful revolution" that began here with the decisive "Monday demonstration" of October 9, 1989, exactly one month before the fall of the Berlin Wall. An extensive documentation, Protest of Silence, reports on the development and background of this historically significant day.

Live Concert from the Church St Nicolai, Leipzig

„Wir sind das Volk“

Refuge of Awakening – Leipzig commemorates 9th October 1989

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 (1703-1707)**** [00:56]*

♪ "Fürchte dich nicht", BWV 228 (1726? in Leipzig)***** [9:34]

♪ Partita in D minor for Solo Violin No.2, BWV 1004 (1720)** [18:26]

v. Chaconne

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)

♪ Elijah, Op.70 (1846, rev.1847)

Aria: Höre, Israel, höre des Herrn Stimme *** [32:06]
Chorus: Fürchte dich nicht ****** [38:15]

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

♪ Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67 (1807-1808) [42:41]

i. Allegro con brio
ii. Andante con moto
iii. Scherzo: Allegro
iv. Allegro

Johann Sebastian Bach

♪ Mass in B minor, BWV 232 (1749)

Dona nobis pacem *****/****** [1:20:11]

Victoria Mullova, violin **
Nancy Argenta, soprano ***
Jürgen Wolf, organ ****

Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt

Thomanerchor Leipzig *****
Chorus master: Georg Christoph Biller

Gewandhaus Choir ******

Directed by Bob Coles

Church St Nicolai, Leipzig, October 9, 1999

(HD 1080p)

* Start time of each work

Jürgen Wolf

Thomanerchor Leipzig

Georg Christoph Biller

Victoria Mullova

Nancy Argenta

Gewandhaus Choir

Herbert Blomstedt

More photos

See also

Johann Sebastian Bach: "Fürchte dich nicht", BWV 228 | Felix Mendelssohn: "Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen über dir" – Thomanerchor Leipzig, Georg Christoph Biller (HD 1080p)

Ludwig van Beethoven: Romances for Violin and Orchestra No.1 in G major & No.2 in F major – Renaud Capuçon, Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

Ludwig van Beethoven: "Egmont" Overture – Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.2 in D major – Gewandhausorchester, Kurt Masur (HD 1080p)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.